amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Hispanic & Latino

Showing 1-10 of 16 books

rated!
rated!

The Gold Eaters

A Novel

by Ronald Wright
edition: Paperback
tagged: literary, hispanic & latino, historical

A sweeping, epic historical novel of exploration and invasion, of conquest and resistance, and of an enduring love that must overcome the destruction of one empire by another.

Kidnapped at sea by conquistadors seeking the golden land of Peru, a young Inca boy named Waman is the everyman thrown into extraordinary circumstances. Forced to become Fran …

rated!
rated!

Avenue of Mysteries

by John Irving
edition: Paperback
tagged: literary, hispanic & latino, coming of age

John Irving returns to the themes that established him as one of North America's most admired and beloved storytellers in this absorbing novel of fate and memory.

As we grow older--most of all, in what we remember and what we dream--we live in the past. Sometimes, we live more vividly in the past than in the present.
     As an older man, Juan Dieg …

rated!
rated!

El Niño

by Nadia Bozak
edition: Paperback
tagged: literary, hispanic & latino, contemporary women

Inspired by J. M. Coetzee’s Disgrace, El Niño tracks the survival of one woman and a young, undocumented migrant as they journey through the no-man’s-land of a remote southwestern desert.

Honey hasn’t seen her mother, Marianne, in more than two years. She drives deep into the once-prosperous border region of the Oro Desert for a surprise visi …

rated!
rated!

Adam Buenosayres

A Novel

by Leopoldo Marechal, translated by Norman Cheadle
edition: Paperback
tagged: literary

A modernist urban novel in the tradition of James Joyce, Adam Buenosayres is a tour-de-force that does for Buenos Aires what Carlos Fuentes did for Mexico City or José Lezama Lima did for Havana - chronicles a city teeming with life in all its clever and crass, rude and intelligent forms. Employing a range of literary styles and a variety of voice …

rated!
rated!

Cloudburst

An Anthology of Hispanic Canadian Short Stories

edited by Julio Torres-Recinos & Luis Molina Lora, revised by Hugh Hazelton
edition: eBook
tagged: anthologies (multiple authors), hispanic & latino

Cloudburst is a milestone in Canadian literature. For over a half-century, beginning with the Spanish Civil War and continuing through the coups d’état and military repression in South and Central America in the 1970s and 80s, Spanish-speaking writers have been arriving in Canada as exiles and immigrants and have been creating new works in thei …

rated!
rated!

Golden Chances

The Californios

by Jane Toombs & Jude Pittman
edition: eBook
tagged: westerns, historical, hispanic & latino

In California, shortly after Confederation, generations of two powerful dynasties fought, loved and died for the land as children are born, grow, intermarry, rebel and form new links to the California dynasties. his fast moving drama about the people Spanish, Anglo, Mexican and Native Americans who fought for California and the future of their chil …

Show editions