amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Dysfunctional Families

Showing 1-10 of 21 books

rated!
rated!

The Erratics

by Vicki Laveau-Harvie
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, aging, dysfunctional families

In this award-winning memoir, two sisters reckon with the convalescence and death of their outlandishly tyrannical mother and the care of their psychologically terrorized father, all relayed with dark humour and brutal honesty.

When Vicki and her sister learn their mother has been hospitalized for a broken hip, they return to their parents' home in …

rated!
rated!

Heal Your Kids, Heal Your Heart

The Mom's Guide to Thrive after Loss, Trauma & Abuse

by Natalie Pereman
edition: Paperback
tagged: domestic partner abuse, dysfunctional families

Your kids can recover from the damaging effects of domestic violence.

Have you left the abusive relationship but find yourself still feeling like your kids will never be the same again? Is counseling not giving you the healing results you hoped for? Childhood trauma and PTSD are debilitating, not only for the child but also for the parents who watch …

rated!
rated!

The Art of Losing It

A Memoir of Grief and Addiction

by Rosemary Keevil
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, dysfunctional families, inspiration & personal growth, death, grief, bereavement, single parent

When her brother dies of AIDS and her husband dies of cancer in the same year, Rosemary is left on her own with two young daughters and antsy addiction demons dancing in her head. This is the nucleus of The Art of Losing It a young mother jerking from emergency to emergency as the men in her life drop dead around her; a high-functioning radio show …

rated!
rated!

An Alphabet for Joanna

A Portrait of My Mother in 26 Fragments

by Damian Rogers
edition: Hardcover
tagged: personal memoirs, dysfunctional families, alzheimer's & dementia

A gripping memoir from acclaimed poet Damian Rogers about being raised by a loving but erratic single mother who is today diagnosed with a rare form of frontal-lobe dementia. In the vein of Plum Johnson's They Left Us Everything, Leanne Shapton's Swimming Studies, Jeannette Walls' The Glass Castle and Susannah Cahalan's Brain on Fire.

"Evocative, b …

rated!
rated!

A Mind Spread Out on the Ground

by Alicia Elliott
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
tagged: native american, dysfunctional families, native americans

#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2019 HILARY WESTON WRITERS' TRUST PRIZE FOR NONFICTION
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF 2019 BY THE GLOBE AND MAIL • CBC • CHATELAINE • QUILL & QUIRE • THE HILL TIMES • POP MATTERS
A bold and profound meditation on trauma, legacy, oppression and racism in North America from award-winning Haudenosa …

rated!
rated!

Borderline Shine

A Memoir

by Connie Greshner, foreword by Theresa Therriault
edition: eBook
tagged: personal memoirs, dysfunctional families, mental health, domestic partner abuse

A therapist's story of complex trauma and her remarkable journey to recovery.

When Connie Greshner was eight years old, her father walked into a bar in Ponoka, Alberta, and shot her mother. So began a young life defined by trauma. From Catholic boarding school in Kansas to the streets of the Downtown Eastside in Vancouver, Connie travelled in pursui …

rated!
rated!

My Favourite Crime

Essays and Journalism from Around the World

by Deni Ellis Béchard
edition: Paperback
tagged: criminals & outlaws, essays, canadian, dysfunctional families

My Favourite Crime ranges across the world and over a wide array of contemporary issues. Divided into five sections, all united by a recurring consideration of how writing helps transform our understanding of our family, of ourselves, and of the world, the book addresses such disparate topics as: the author’s tumultuous relationship with his fath …

rated!
rated!

Cures for Hunger

by Deni Ellis Béchard
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
tagged: personal memoirs, dysfunctional families, criminals & outlaws

Almost unbelievable. You'll swear it's fiction.

"You haven't read a story like this one, even if your father was the kind of magnificent scoundrel you only find in Russian novels. Béchard is the rare writer who knows the secret to telling the true story." — Marlon James, author of A Brief History of Seven Killings

Growing up in rural British Colum …

Show editions