amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Abuse

Showing 1-10 of 79 books

rated!
rated!

The Queen of Peace Room

by Magie Dominic, read by Ryanne Chisholm
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
tagged: women, sexuality & gender studies, child abuse

What is memory, and where is it stored in the body? Can a room be symbolic of a lifetime?

Memories are like layers of your skin or layers of paint on a canvas. In The Queen of Peace Room, Magie Dominic peels away these layers as she explores her life, that of a Newfoundlander turned New Yorker, an artist and a writer — and frees herself from the …

rated!
rated!

Insurgent Love

Abolition and Domestic Homicide

by Ardath Whynacht
edition: eBook
tagged: domestic partner abuse, criminology

 

Domestic homicide is violence that strikes within our most intimate relations. The most common strategy for addressing this kind of transgression relies on policing and prisons. But through examining commonly accepted typologies of high-risk intimate partner violence, Ardath Whynacht shows that policing can be understood as part of the same root p …

rated!
rated!

Persephone's Children

A Life in Fragments

by Rowan McCandless
edition: eBook
tagged: personal memoirs, essays, domestic partner abuse, african american & black

Co-Winner of 2022 Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book

After years of secrecy and silence, Rowan McCandless leaves an abusive relationship and rediscovers her voice and identity through writing.

She was never to lie to him. She was never to leave him; and she was never supposed to tell.

Persephone’s Children chronicles Rowan McCandless’ …

rated!
rated!

Among Silent Echoes

A Memoir of Trauma and Resilience

by Phyllis Dyson
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, women

Twenty-five years after her mother's brutal death made the headlines, Phyllis Dyson felt compelled to unearth the truth about her mother's illness. By chronicling the events of her childhood, uncovering family secrets and betrayals and gaining access to government documents, Dyson has captured the heart of her family's tragedy in a debut memoir.
F …

rated!
rated!

Confessions of an Animal Rights Terrorist

by Karen Levenson
edition: Paperback
tagged: animal rights, domestic partner abuse, social activists

A searing memoir of an animal rights campaigner’s effort to stop Canada’s seal hunt, while handling domestic abuse and her partner’s long-term illness.
When two government agents asked Karen Levenson whether she knew any terrorists or was one herself, she couldn’t have been more astonished. Passionately and professionally engaged in the st …

rated!
rated!

Unatoned

A Memoir

by Brent LaPorte
edition: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, abuse

 

For readers of Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son comes a heart-wrenching memoir that interrogates an abusive father and his dark legacy.

Children who experience physical, mental, and emotional trauma at the hands of a parent often grow into adults who suffer from mental illness and find it difficult to build lasting, healthy relationships. Som …

rated!
rated!

The Wig-Maker

by Janet Gallant & Sharon Thesen
edition: Paperback
tagged: family, multiracial families

A powerful tale of violence, grief, resilience, and transformation, told in the voice of Janet Gallant, transcribed and lineated as a long poem by Sharon Thesen, The Wig-Maker gathers and weaves together themes and incidents that accumulate toward "the moan" of racism, sexual abuse, maternal abandonment, suicide, mental illness, and addiction.

Thou …

Show editions