amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Prejudice & Racism

Showing 1-10 of 216 books

rated!
rated!

Alina in a Pinch

by Shenaaz Nanji
edition: Paperback
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: prejudice & racism, cooking & food, friendship

Moving to a new city means Alina has to make new friends, and nothing is worse than lunch at a new school. When her grandmother visits, Alina is inspired to help her cook the delicious Afro-Indian meals she’s always loved, but a cruel note from a mysterious lunchtime bully leaves a bitter taste that even Nani’s excellent cooking can’t erase.

W …

rated!
rated!

White Raven

by Teoni Spathelfer, illustrated by Natassia Davies
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: native canadian, multigenerational, prejudice & racism

White Raven, an Elder and residential school survivor, shares her difficult past with her daughter and grandchildren in this sequel to Little Wolf.

All grown up with a family of her own, Little Wolf moves from the big city to the island of her ancestors. She wants to share the beauty and mysteries of nature with her children, and she wants them to …

rated!
rated!

Abalone Woman

by Teoni Spathelfer, illustrated by Natassia Davies
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: native canadian, prejudice & racism, multigenerational

A vivid dream teaches Little Wolf about courage and acceptance of those who are different, and inspires her to show her daughters and their classmates how to be proud of their diverse cultural backgrounds.

Throughout her life, Little Wolf has been troubled by the injustice she sees all around her. When she was young, she was bullied for her Indigeno …

rated!
rated!

Abuelita y yo

by Leonarda Carranza, illustrated by Rafael Mayani
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: hispanic & latino, multigenerational, prejudice & racism

Este debut literario relata la profunda y conmovedora historia de cómo una niña y su abuelita enfrentan varias manifestaciones del racismo en su vida cotidiana.

El tiempo en casa con Abuelita es divertido. Incluye comer panqueques, saltar charcos y pintarse las uñas. Mientras que las salidas para hacer compras no siempre son divertidas. En el sup …

rated!
rated!

Moonwalking

by Zetta Elliott & Lyn Miller-Lachmann
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: prejudice & racism

"This novel in verse, alternately narrated by two boys in 1980s Greenpoint, Brooklyn, one channeled by Elliott and one by Miller-Lachmann, eloquently tackles race, culture and life on the spectrum." — The New York Times
For fans of Jason Reynolds and Jacqueline Woodson, this middle-grade novel-in-verse follows two boys in 1980s Brooklyn as they …

rated!
rated!

Abuelita and Me

by Leonarda Carranza, illustrated by Rafael Mayani
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: hispanic & latino, prejudice & racism, multigenerational

In this touching, empowering picture book debut, a girl and her beloved abuelita lean on each other as they contend with racism while running errands in the city.

Spending time at home with Abuelita means pancakes, puddle-jumping, and nail-painting. But venturing out into the city is not always as fun. On the bus and at the grocery store, people are …

rated!
rated!

The Tales of Dwipa

by Prajwala Dixit, illustrated by Duncan Major
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 6
tagged: diversity & multicultural, adaptations, prejudice & racism

Through a framework of traditional tales, fantastic creatures struggle with issues of marginalization, opening discussion for parents and children in an accessible form.

The Tales Of Dwipa is a collection of short stories adapted from the Panchatantra, a collection of simple, engaging, and interrelated animal tales penned by Pandit Vishnu Sharma in …

rated!
rated!

No Vacancy

by Tziporah Cohen
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: prejudice & racism, friendship, jewish

With the help of her Catholic friend, an eleven-year-old Jewish girl creates a provocative local tourist attraction to save her family’s failing motel.

Buying and moving into the run-down Jewel Motor Inn in upstate New York wasn’t eleven-year-old Miriam Brockman’s dream, but at least it’s an adventure. Miriam befriends Kate, whose grandmothe …

rated!
rated!

Ga's / The Train

by Jodie Callaghan, illustrated by Georgia Lesley, translated by Joe Wilmot
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: prejudice & racism, multigenerational, native canadian

The dual-language edition, in English and Mi'gmaq, of the Silver Birch Express-nominated title, The Train.

Ashley meets her great-uncle by the old train tracks near their community in Nova Scotia. Ashley sees his sadness, and Uncle tells her of the day years ago when he and the other children from their community were told to board the train before …

Show editions

Sub-categories