amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Social Issues

Showing 1-10 of 4805 books

rated!
rated!

La fée scientifique : Solide, liquide, gazeux

illustrated by Ashley Spires
edition: Paperback
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: fantasy & magic, weather, friendship

 

See below for English description.

Esther la fée ne croit pas à la magie. Elle croit à la science. En tant que fée préférant le microscope à la baguette magique, elle ne peut contenir son enthousiasme lorsqu’elle parvient à former une hypothèse sur les solides et les liquides. Mais son enseignante et ses camarades de classe ne sont pas a …

rated!
rated!

Brady Brady et le père Noël

by Mary Shaw, illustrated by Chuck Temple
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: hockey, friendship, christmas & advent

 

See below for English description.

Préparez-vous à célébrer Noël avec Brady! C’est la veille de Noël et l’équipe de hockey de Brady, les Ricochons, doit jouer un match important. Alors que la partie vient juste de débuter, Brady réalise qu’il a oublié d’envoyer sa liste de voeux au père Noël! Il n’a plus beaucoup de temps…

Br …

rated!
rated!

Jacob and the Mandolin Adventure

by Anne Dublin, read by Steven Vlahos
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 8
tagged: europe, post-confederation (1867-), emigration & immigration

 

Thirteen-year-old Jacob’s life is hard in 1920s Poland, where he lives in an orphanage for Jewish children. His days are brightened by playing in the orphanage mandolin orchestra. When an American benefactor arrives with the promise of a new life in Canada at a farm school, Jacob and his friends are thrilled. But can they trust this man to keep …

rated!
rated!

Loudest Bark, The

by Gail Marlene Schwartz & Lucie Gagnon, illustrated by Amélie Ayotte
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 10
  • Grade: p to 5
tagged: lgbt, friendship

Samuel knows that their real name is Simone, but things at their house are too quiet to think about how to tell their parents. When Chloe the costume designer moves in across the street with a dog about to have puppies, life becomes bigger, more colourful, and louder. And so does Simone.

rated!
rated!

Quels jappements!

by Lucie Gagnon & Gail Marlene Schwartz, illustrated by Amélie Ayotte
edition: Paperback
  • age: 4 to 10
  • Grade: p to 5
tagged: lgbt, friendship

Samuel sait que son vrai prénom est Simone, mais comment le dire à ses parents quand tout est tellement silencieux à la maison ! Lorsque Chloé, une costumière, déménage en face, avec un chien qui va bientôt avoir des chiots, la vie devient plus grande, plus colorée et plus bruyante. Tout comme Simone.

rated!
rated!

The Sour Cherry Tree

by Naseem Hrab, illustrated by Nahid Kazemi
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: 2 to 12
tagged: death & dying, emotions & feelings, multigenerational, middle eastern & arab american

A heartwarming look at love, loss, and memorable objects through the eyes of a child by critically-acclaimed creators Naseem Hrab and Nahid Kazemi

"Deeply evocative ... A beautifully poignant celebration of memories of a loved one that live on in those that remain." — Kirkus Reviews – STARRED REVIEW

After her grandfather’s death, a young girl w …

rated!
rated!

Sour Cakes

by Karen Krossing, illustrated by Anna Kwan
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: 1 to 12
tagged: emotions & feelings, imagination & play, siblings

Heavy emotions meet a deep well of understanding in this uplifting sibling story

?

Two siblings wake up in two very different moods; the older one cheerful and lively, the younger feeling sad and irritable. The big sister negotiates and cajoles, tries everything she can think of to cheer her little sister up, but nothing works. She offers to go outsi …

rated!
rated!

The Midnight Club

by Shane Goth, illustrated by Yong Ling Kang
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: 1 to 12
tagged: bedtime & dreams, imagination & play, siblings, friendship

A cozy sibling conspiracy unfolds at midnight
At the stroke of midnight, Milly wakes up her big sister, Becca. It’s time for Milly’s first Midnight Club adventure! With Becca leading the way, the siblings explore the hidden wonders of their house in the dark. They dip into Dad’s jar of jelly beans, try on Mom’s coat, and make more mischie …

rated!
rated!

Lucy joue au soccer

by Lisa Bowes, illustrated by James Hearne, translated by Rachel Martinez
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: soccer, new experience

Souhaitant s’initier à un sport d’été, Lucy et ses amis se rencontrent sur le terrain de soccer pour leur première partie à trois contre trois. Grâce à Nick l’entraîneur, Lucy et les autres membres de l’équipe des Bleus s’initient à quelques jeux et se préparent à affronter les Rouges.

La série « Lucy fait du sport » est con …

rated!
rated!

Super Sleepover! (Simon and Chester Book #2)

by Cale Atkinson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: humorous, humorous stories, friendship

Join Simon and Chester in their second adventure featuring all the ups-and-downs of a sleepover party! A hilarious new graphic novel series for fans of The Bad Guys and Dog Man.

Welcome to the world of Simon and Chester, ghost and boy duo extraordinaire.
They like to kick butt and take names.
They don't like chores.
They are best friends.
And th …

Sub-categories