amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Social Issues

Showing 1-10 of 4857 books

rated!
rated!

Downside Up

by Richard Scrimger
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 100
  • Grade: 5 to 17
tagged: death & dying, fantasy & magic

Fred is a sixth-grader reeling from the loss of his beloved dog, Casey. Every day he walks home from school bouncing Casey's old worn-out tennis ball. One day, the ball falls down a sewer grate, and Fred can't bear to leave it down there. He pries open the grate and stumbles down. Through the sewer, Fred enters a parallel universe: Casey is alive, …

rated!
rated!

Wolfie and Fly: Band on the Run

by Cary Fagan, illustrated by Zoe Si
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 7 to 10
  • Grade: 2 to 5
tagged: chapter books, music, friendship

A classic story of imagination, friendship, rock bands and high-speed helicopter chases. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the Great.

Everyone's favorite odd couple is back. Our heroine, Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) does everything by herself. Friends just get in the way, and she only has time for facts and reading. But friendship finds her in t …

rated!
rated!

The Bridge

by Jane Higgins
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: fantasy & magic, friendship

 The City is divided. The bridges gated. In Southside, the hostiles live in squalor and desperation, waiting for a chance to overrun the residents of Cityside.
     Nik is still in high school but is destined for a great career with the Internal Security and Intelligence Services, the brains behind the war. But when ISIS comes recruiting, everyon …

rated!
rated!

The Ice Chips Book #7

by Roy MacGregor & Kerry MacGregor, illustrated by Kim Smith
edition: eBook
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: hockey, time travel, friendship
rated!
rated!

Brady Brady et le père Noël

by Mary Shaw, illustrated by Chuck Temple
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: hockey, friendship, christmas & advent
rated!
rated!

What Do You See?

by Sarah N. Harvey, illustrated by Jane Heinrichs
edition: eBook
  • age: 0 to 2
  • Grade: p
tagged: new experience, senses & sensation, new baby

What's it like to see the world through the eyes of a child? This beautifully illustrated board book celebrates the point of view of children who are too small to tell you what they see but not too small to experience the joy of small things such as a colorful mobile, a favorite teddy, an older brother's Lego castle or a trip to the park. Young rea …

rated!
rated!

The Misfit Book List

by Colleen Nelson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: friendship, school & education, marriage & divorce, self-esteem & self-reliance
rated!
rated!

Mika and the Dragonfly

by Ellen DeLange, illustrated by Martina Schachenhuber
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 5 to 10
  • Grade: k to 5
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance

A sweet story about helping others and finding our own wings to fly. For little animal friends ages 5 years and up.

Mika is very shy and doesn't have the courage to play with the other kids. She sits under her favorite tree and sees the dragonflies swoop by. Then she spots a truly beautiful one, but . . . this dragonfly is missing a wing. Maybe she …

rated!
rated!

El ladron del sombrero

illustrated by Jon Klassen
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: values & virtues

From the creator of the bestselling 'I Want My Hat Back' comes the story of a tiny fish who proudly wears a blue hat. It fits him perfectly. Problem is, trouble could be following close behind... So it's a good thing that the enormous fish he took it from won't wake up. And even if he does, it's not as though he'll ever know what happened, right? V …

Show editions

Sub-categories