amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Social Issues

Showing 1-10 of 4725 books

rated!
rated!

Downside Up

by Richard Scrimger
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 100
  • Grade: 5 to 17
tagged: death & dying, fantasy & magic

Fred is a sixth-grader reeling from the loss of his beloved dog, Casey. Every day he walks home from school bouncing Casey's old worn-out tennis ball. One day, the ball falls down a sewer grate, and Fred can't bear to leave it down there. He pries open the grate and stumbles down. Through the sewer, Fred enters a parallel universe: Casey is alive, …

rated!
rated!

Wolfie and Fly: Band on the Run

by Cary Fagan, illustrated by Zoe Si
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 7 to 10
  • Grade: 2 to 5
tagged: chapter books, music, friendship

A classic story of imagination, friendship, rock bands and high-speed helicopter chases. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the Great.

Everyone's favorite odd couple is back. Our heroine, Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) does everything by herself. Friends just get in the way, and she only has time for facts and reading. But friendship finds her in t …

rated!
rated!

The Bridge

by Jane Higgins
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: fantasy & magic, friendship

 The City is divided. The bridges gated. In Southside, the hostiles live in squalor and desperation, waiting for a chance to overrun the residents of Cityside.
     Nik is still in high school but is destined for a great career with the Internal Security and Intelligence Services, the brains behind the war. But when ISIS comes recruiting, everyon …

rated!
rated!

Shout Out for the Fitzgerald-Trouts

by Esta Spalding, illustrated by Lee Gatlin
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: siblings, humorous stories, homelessness & poverty

The third book in a Dahl-esque middle-grade series by award-winning poet and screenwriter Esta Spalding.

The plucky Fitzgerald-Trout siblings (who live on a tropical island where the grown-ups are useless but the kids can drive) are back! After losing the boat that had become their home, oldest Fitzgerald-Trout, Kim, has put finding a home back on …

rated!
rated!

No More Plastic

illustrated by Alma Fullerton
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: k to 3
tagged: recycling & green living, environment, values & virtues, marine life

Isley loves the ocean and everything in it. Well, almost everything. Her heart sinks at the sight of her Alantic Ocean shoreline covered in trash. One day, upon discovering a beached right whale that has starved to death due to the plastic in its system, Isley decides enough is enough. She steers her family into adopting a zero-waste lifestyle, ins …

rated!
rated!

Be My Love

by Kit Pearson
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: lgbt, adolescence, depression & mental illness

One summer will change everything.

For as long as she can remember, Maisie has spent her summers on Kingfisher Island. She and her beloved cousin Una run wild, and Maisie feels the warm embrace of her big, extended family.

This summer Maisie needs that escape more than ever. But now everything on Kingfisher has changed: Una has returned from her mai …

rated!
rated!

The Ice Chips Book #6

by Roy MacGregor & Kerry MacGregor, illustrated by Kim Smith
edition: eBook
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: hockey, time travel, friendship
rated!
rated!

Super Detectives (Simon and Chester Book #1)

by Cale Atkinson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: mystery & detective, humorous stories, friendship

A ghost and a kid team up to solve mysteries and kick butt! A hilarious new graphic novel series for fans of Bad Guys and Dog Man.

Welcome to the world of Simon and Chester, ghost and boy duo extraordinaire.
They like to kick butt and take names.
They don't like chores.
They are best friends.
And they are about to solve the MYSTERY OF A LIFETIME …

rated!
rated!

Dear Black Girls

by Shanice Nicole, by (artist) Kezna Dalz
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 10
  • Grade: 1 to 5
tagged: girls & women, self-esteem & self-reliance, prejudice & racism

Dear Black Girls is a letter to all Black girls. Every day poet and educator Shanice Nicole is reminded of how special Black girls are and of how lucky she is to be one. Illustrations by Kezna Dalz support the book's message that no two Black girls are the same but they are all special--that to be a Black girl is a true gift. In this celebratory po …

rated!
rated!

The Secret Fawn

by Kallie George, illustrated by Elly MacKay
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: deer, moose & caribou, self-esteem & self-reliance

Gorgeous cut-paper art illuminates this sweet, heartfelt picture book about how special being little can be. For fans of Finding Wild and Little Fox in the Forest.

A little girl is always missing out on the wonderful things her family gets to see and do, just because she is the youngest and smallest. She misses seeing shooting stars because she goes …

Sub-categories