amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Social Issues

Showing 1-10 of 4740 books

rated!
rated!

Downside Up

by Richard Scrimger
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 100
  • Grade: 5 to 17
tagged: death & dying, fantasy & magic

Fred is a sixth-grader reeling from the loss of his beloved dog, Casey. Every day he walks home from school bouncing Casey's old worn-out tennis ball. One day, the ball falls down a sewer grate, and Fred can't bear to leave it down there. He pries open the grate and stumbles down. Through the sewer, Fred enters a parallel universe: Casey is alive, …

rated!
rated!

Wolfie and Fly: Band on the Run

by Cary Fagan, illustrated by Zoe Si
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 7 to 10
  • Grade: 2 to 5
tagged: chapter books, music, friendship

A classic story of imagination, friendship, rock bands and high-speed helicopter chases. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the Great.

Everyone's favorite odd couple is back. Our heroine, Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) does everything by herself. Friends just get in the way, and she only has time for facts and reading. But friendship finds her in t …

rated!
rated!

The Bridge

by Jane Higgins
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: fantasy & magic, friendship

 The City is divided. The bridges gated. In Southside, the hostiles live in squalor and desperation, waiting for a chance to overrun the residents of Cityside.
     Nik is still in high school but is destined for a great career with the Internal Security and Intelligence Services, the brains behind the war. But when ISIS comes recruiting, everyon …

rated!
rated!

What Do You See?

by Sarah N. Harvey, illustrated by Jane Heinrichs
edition: eBook
  • age: 0 to 2
  • Grade: p
tagged: new experience, senses & sensation, new baby

What's it like to see the world through the eyes of a child? This beautifully illustrated board book celebrates the point of view of children who are too small to tell you what they see but not too small to experience the joy of small things such as a colorful mobile, a favorite teddy, an older brother's Lego castle or a trip to the park. Young rea …

rated!
rated!

Tu es là pour moi

by Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Danielle Daniel, translated by Rachel Martinez
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: emotions & feelings, friendship

Cet album aux illustrations vibrantes de la célèbre artiste Danielle Daniel encourage les enfants à manifester leur affection, à se soutenir mutuellement et à tenir compte du bien-être des autres dans leur quotidien. 
Monique Gray Smith, qui est une experte-conseil, conférencière d’envergure internationale et autrice primée, a écrit Tu …

rated!
rated!

You Hold Me Up / Gimanaadenim

by Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Danielle Daniel, translated by Angela Mesic & Margaret Noodin
edition: eBook
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: emotions & feelings, friendship

This vibrant picture book, beautifully illustrated by celebrated artist Danielle Daniel, encourages children to show love and support for each other and to consider each other's well-being in their every-day actions.
Consultant, international speaker and award-winning author Monique Gray Smith wrote You Hold Me Up to prompt a dialogue among young …

rated!
rated!

My Heart Fills With Happiness / Nijiikendam

by Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Julie Flett, translated by Angela Mesic & Margaret Noodin
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: emotions & feelings, native canadian

The sun on your face. The smell of warm bannock baking in the oven. Holding the hand of someone you love. What fills your heart with happiness? This beautiful board book, with illustrations from celebrated artist Julie Flett, serves as a reminder for little ones and adults alike to reflect on and cherish the moments in life that bring us joy.
Int …

Show editions

Sub-categories