amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Social Issues

Showing 1-10 of 4964 books

rated!
rated!

Downside Up

by Richard Scrimger
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 100
  • Grade: 5 to 17
tagged: death & dying, fantasy & magic

Fred is a sixth-grader reeling from the loss of his beloved dog, Casey. Every day he walks home from school bouncing Casey's old worn-out tennis ball. One day, the ball falls down a sewer grate, and Fred can't bear to leave it down there. He pries open the grate and stumbles down. Through the sewer, Fred enters a parallel universe: Casey is alive, …

rated!
rated!

Wolfie and Fly: Band on the Run

by Cary Fagan, illustrated by Zoe Si
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 7 to 10
  • Grade: 2 to 5
tagged: chapter books, music, friendship

A classic story of imagination, friendship, rock bands and high-speed helicopter chases. For fans of Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody or Nate the Great.

Everyone's favorite odd couple is back. Our heroine, Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) does everything by herself. Friends just get in the way, and she only has time for facts and reading. But friendship finds her in t …

rated!
rated!

The Bridge

by Jane Higgins
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: fantasy & magic, friendship

 The City is divided. The bridges gated. In Southside, the hostiles live in squalor and desperation, waiting for a chance to overrun the residents of Cityside.
     Nik is still in high school but is destined for a great career with the Internal Security and Intelligence Services, the brains behind the war. But when ISIS comes recruiting, everyon …

rated!
rated!

Little Monster

by Caroline Merola
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: fantasy & magic, imagination & play, friendship

I have a little pocket monster
that is very naughty and very ugly.
He's here, I see him
But I won't show him to you.

Little monster is the imaginary friend, the little rascal in every child's mind! The one only children can see! A must-read album on children's imaginary friends and mischievous spirit.

rated!
rated!

The Ice Chips Book #7

by Roy MacGregor & Kerry MacGregor, illustrated by Kim Smith
edition: eBook
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: hockey, time travel, friendship
rated!
rated!

The Sour Cherry Tree

by Naseem Hrab, illustrated by Nahid Kazemi
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: 2 to 17
tagged: death & dying, emotions & feelings, multigenerational, non-classifiable

A heartwarming look at love, loss, and memorable objects through the eyes of a child
After her grandfather’s death, a young girl wanders through his house. As she tours each room, the objects she discovers stir memories of her grandfather—her baba bozorg. His closet full of clothes reminds her of the mints he kept in his pockets. His favorite …

rated!
rated!

Sour Cakes

by Karen Krossing, illustrated by Anna Kwan
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: 1 to 17
tagged: emotions & feelings, imagination & play, siblings

Heavy emotions meet a deep well of understanding in this uplifting sibling story
Two siblings wake up in two very different moods; the older one cheerful and lively, the younger grumpy and irritable. The big sister negotiates and cajoles, tries everything she can think of to cheer her little sister up, but nothing works. She offers to go outside …

rated!
rated!

The Midnight Club

by Shane Goth, illustrated by Yong Ling Kang
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: 1 to 17
tagged: bedtime & dreams, imagination & play, siblings, friendship

A cozy sibling conspiracy unfolds at midnight
At the stroke of midnight, Milly wakes up her big sister, Becca. It’s time for Milly’s first Midnight Club adventure! With Becca leading the way, the siblings explore the hidden wonders of their house in the dark. They dip into Dad’s jar of jelly beans, try on Mom’s coat, and make more mischie …

rated!
rated!

Petal the Angry Cow

by Maureen Fergus, illustrated by Olga Demidova
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: emotions & feelings, humorous stories

A hilarious barnyard tale about big-hearted cow with an even bigger temper, for fans of Penguin Problems.

Petal is everything you could want in a cow.

She is kind, thoughtful, a great baker and a wonderful artist.

She also has a temper. A very big, out-of-control temper. And it doesn't help that her barnyard pals like to push her buttons . . .

On th …

rated!
rated!

Brady Brady et le père Noël

by Mary Shaw, illustrated by Chuck Temple
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: hockey, friendship, christmas & advent

Sub-categories