amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Ghost Stories

Showing 1-10 of 44 books

rated!
rated!

The Bridge of Whispers

by Kristin Butcher
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 11
  • Grade: 4 to 6
tagged: fantasy & magic, ghost stories, self-esteem & self-reliance

Maeve, a blacksmith's daughter, has been living among the Druids for several months as she trains to be a seer. She still marvels at the newfound friendship in her life. Her teacher Bradan, her friends Enda, Nora and Declan, and the rest of the Druids living at the Ruin, provide her with a sense of belonging she's never felt before.

But she learns h …

rated!
rated!

Screamers

by Joel A. Sutherland
edition: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: horror & ghost stories, paranormal, ghost stories

 

New middle-grade horror from the award-winning author of the Haunted Canada series!

 

When the hit television show Screamers announces a contest for young fans to appear on an upcoming episode, it’s all kids can talk about. So when Sai, Jason, and Aaliyah, strangers from different parts of the country, are selected from the thousands of applicants …

rated!
rated!

Haunted Hospital

by Marty Chan, read by Jamie Kavanaugh
edition: Audiobook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, thrillers & suspense

Xander thinks the George Wickerman Hospital would be the perfect setting for Spirits and Specters, a role-playing game where players go on “missions” to find evidence of paranormal activities. According to local legend, tuberculosis patients were used as test subjects in medical experiments that ended tragically, and their disfigured ghosts wal …

rated!
rated!

Stink and the Shark Sleepover

by Megan McDonald, illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: marine life, new experience, ghost stories

Shark-tastic! Stink gets to sleep with the fishes after his parents win an aquarium sleepover. But wait — what’s that lurking beyond the KEEP OUT sign?

When Stink’s parents win tickets for the whole family to sleep over at the aquarium (along with Stink’s two best friends), it sounds like a science freak’s dream come true. Stink loves the …

rated!
rated!

The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt

by Riel Nason, illustrated by Byron Eggenschwiler
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: ghost stories, halloween, self-esteem & self-reliance

When you're a quilt instead of a sheet, being a ghost is hard! An adorable picture book for fans of Stumpkin and How to Make Friends with a Ghost.

Ghosts are supposed to be sheets, light as air and able to whirl and twirl and float and soar. But the little ghost who is a quilt can't whirl or twirl at all, and when he flies, he gets very hot.

He does …

rated!
rated!

Screech!

Ghost Stories from Old Newfoundland

by Charis Cotter, illustrated by Genevieve Simms
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, thrillers & suspense, paranormal

A CBC Books Best of 2020 Pick. A spooky, illustrated collection of Atlantic ghost stories for middle-grade readers by the award-winning author of The Ghost Road.

The whole world seemed to tilt at that moment, like a painting on a wall that gets knocked a little crooked. Everything she had known as real up until now was slightly altered, and she seem …

rated!
rated!

An Old Man’s Winter Night

Ghostly Tales

narrator Tom Dawe
edition: Audiobook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, adaptations, paranormal

 

An Old Man’s Winter Night: Ghostly tales is the newest collection of ghost stories by Tom Dawe, one of Newfoundland and Labrador’s most distinguished writers.

The stories, all based on ones Dawe himself has collected across the province over the years, include tales of visitations both malevolent and benign. There are stories of ghostly galleon …

Show editions

Sub-categories