amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Ghost Stories

Showing 1-10 of 37 books

rated!
rated!

The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt

by Riel Nason, illustrated by Byron Eggenschwiler
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: ghost stories, halloween, self-esteem & self-reliance

When you're a quilt instead of a sheet, being a ghost is hard! An adorable picture book for fans of Stumpkin and How to Make Friends with a Ghost.

Ghosts are supposed to be sheets, light as air and able to whirl and twirl and float and soar. But the little ghost who is a quilt can't whirl or twirl at all, and when he flies, he gets very hot.

He does …

rated!
rated!

Screech!

Ghost Stories from Old Newfoundland

by Charis Cotter, illustrated by Genevieve Simms
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, thrillers & suspense, paranormal

The whole world seemed to tilt at that moment, like a painting on a wall that gets knocked a little crooked. Everything she had known as real up until now was slightly altered, and she seemed to be standing on the edge of a huge, dark, trembling world that was just a little different than it had been one minute before. Ghosts were real.

There is no …

rated!
rated!

Haunted Hospital

by Marty Chan
edition: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, thrillers & suspense

Xander thinks the George Wickerman Hospital would be the perfect setting for Spirits and Specters, a role-playing game where players go on “missions” to find evidence of paranormal activities. According to local legend, tuberculosis patients were used as test subjects in medical experiments that ended tragically, and their disfigured ghosts wal …

rated!
rated!

An Old Man’s Winter Night

Ghostly Tales

narrator Tom Dawe
edition: Audiobook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, adaptations, paranormal

 

An Old Man’s Winter Night: Ghostly tales is the newest collection of ghost stories by Tom Dawe, one of Newfoundland and Labrador’s most distinguished writers.

The stories, all based on ones Dawe himself has collected across the province over the years, include tales of visitations both malevolent and benign. There are stories of ghostly galleon …

rated!
rated!

Footsteps in Bay de Verde

A Mysterious Tale

by Charis Cotter, illustrated by Jenny Dwyer
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: ghost stories

Bridie and her brother and sister love to sit up late, listening to the adults trade stories. One stormy night the talk is not only about the price of fish, ghosts and pirates, but also about Poor Keye, a neighbour in hospital who had always loved these storied nights. A loud bang and the sound of his familiar shuffling footsteps suggests that perh …

rated!
rated!

The House at the End of the Road

by Kari Rust
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: k to 5
tagged: multigenerational, friendship, siblings, new experience, ghost stories

One summer, while exploring the town during their annual stay at Grandma’s house, two siblings and their cousin come across a creepy old house. The kids poke around, one of them causing mischief and tossing rocks at the window, until they glimpse a ghost through the glass! Later, Grandma reveals the house doesn’t belong to a ghost—just old Mr …

rated!
rated!

The Ghost Collector

by Allison Mills
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 100
  • Grade: 5 to 17
tagged: ghost stories, native american, native canadian

Ghosts aren’t meant to stick around forever…

Shelly and her grandmother catch ghosts. In their hair.

Just like all the women in their family, they can see souls who haven’t transitioned yet; it’s their job to help the ghosts along their journey. When Shelly’s mom dies suddenly, Shelly’s relationship to ghosts—and death—changes. Instea …

rated!
rated!

The Painting

by Charis Cotter
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: ghost stories, multigenerational, parents

A haunting, beautiful middle-grade novel about fractured relationships, loss, ghosts, friendship and art.

Annie and her mother don't see eye to eye. When Annie finds a painting of a lonely lighthouse in their home, she is immediately drawn to it--and her mother wishes it would stay banished in the attic. To her, art has no interest, but Annie loves …

Show editions