amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Fairy Tales & Folklore

Showing 1-10 of 474 books

rated!
rated!

The Shaman's Apprentice

by Zacharias Kunuk & Megan Kyak-Monteith
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: country & ethnic, monsters, native canadian, polar regions

Inspired by award-winning Inuk director Zacharias Kunuk’s short film of the same name, The Shaman’s Apprentice tells the story of a young shaman in training who must face her first test—a trip to the underground to visit Kannaaluk, The One Below, who holds the answers to why a community member has become ill.

Facing dark spirits and physical …

rated!
rated!

Solid, Liquid, Gassy (A Fairy Science Story)

by Ashley Spires
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: weather, humorous stories

Esther the fairy is back, to investigate the water cycle! From the award-winning author of The Most Magnificent Thing, for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Hidden Figures.

Esther the fairy doesn't believe in magic. But fairies are all about magic, despite Esther's best efforts to reveal the science of their world. This time around, though, she's got …

rated!
rated!

Wind Among Grasses

by Jennifer Pool, by (artist) David Dodson
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 17
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: native american, values & virtues

Wind Among Grasses is an indigenous folktale about a Cherokee girl named Wind, who lives as an outcast because she is different; all the people in her village have a great power except for her. While living in solitude, Wind finds an injured baby sparrow and begins to care for it despite ridicule and discouragement from her people. When Baby Bird g …

rated!
rated!

Alice and Gert

An Ant and Grasshopper Story

by Helaine Becker, illustrated by Dena Seiferling
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: k to 4
tagged: adaptations, friendship, insects, spiders, etc., values & virtues

It’s high summer in the meadow where Alice the ant and Gert the grasshopper live. Alice is hard at work preparing for winter, harvesting heavy loads of seeds. Meanwhile, Gert prefers to play, since winter is ages away. Gert dances through the long days of summer, singing, performing, and creating art out of flowers and leaves. Alice tries to conv …

rated!
rated!

Barefoot Helen and the Giants

by Andy Jones, illustrated by Katie Brosnan
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: adaptations

A hilarious new folktale adaptation from Andy Jones, with brave and resilient girls, evil giants, a magical cat, a storytelling hotel, and hairy feet.

rated!
rated!

Baba Yaga's Assistant

by Marika McCoola, illustrated by Emily Carroll
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 100
  • Grade: 5 to 17
tagged: adaptations, multigenerational, fairy tales, folklore, legends & mythology

Russian folklore icon Baba Yaga mentors a lonely teen in a wry graphic novel that balances gleefully between the modern and the timeless.

Most children think twice before braving a haunted wood filled with terrifying beasties to match wits with a witch, but not Masha. Her beloved grandma taught her many things: that stories are useful, that magic is …

rated!
rated!

Les contes de Clifford : Le haricot magique et le gros chien rouge

by Daphne Pendergrass & Norman Bridwell, illustrated by Remy Simard
edition: Paperback
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: adaptations, dogs, fantasy & magic

 

Jackie et Clifford décident de planter des haricots magiques. Le lendemain, ils découvrent qu’une énorme tige a poussé pendant la nuit! Quand ils grimpent le long de la tige pour voir ce qu’il y a au sommet, ils font face à un gigantesque problème! Les enfants adoreront ce conte mettant en vedette leur gros chien rouge préféré. Ils ra …

rated!
rated!

The Book of Selkie

A Paper Doll Book

by (artist) Briana Corr Scott
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: mythical, toys, dolls, puppets

Oh to be a Selkie,
And live between two worlds
Half your days spent as a seal,
And the other half, a girl...

Stories about the selkie have been told for hundreds of years by those who live near the North Atlantic and North Sea. Sometimes called "seal folk," the selkie, as humans, are tall and strong with dark hair and eyes. Extremely private, …

rated!
rated!

Jack, the King of Ashes

narrator Andy Jones
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 100
  • Grade: 1 to 17
tagged: adaptations, humorous stories

 

In the wake of his highly acclaimed book Jack and Mary in the Land of Thieves, Andy Jones is back with Jack, the King of Ashes, another riotously funny Jack tale that is as moving as it is hilarious.

This time Jack, the “King of Ashes,” spends all his time hove off in the coal box, until one day he shakes off his ashes and sets out on an advent …

rated!
rated!

Jack and Mary in the Land of Thieves

narrator Andy Jones
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
  • age: 7 to 12
  • Grade: 2 to 7
tagged: adaptations, girls & women

 

Jack and Mary in the Land of Thieves finds Jack, that everyman of folktales, married to his sweetheart Mary, the best woman ever born and a mighty fine baker to boot. Their lives are as happy and successful as can be, until an underhanded sea captain and Jack’s own bragging get the better of our hero. Jack is sent the once to work on Slave Islan …

Sub-categories