amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Blog

Most Anticipated: Our 2022 Books for Young Readers Spring Preview

Our 2022 Spring Preview concludes with books for young readers, including picture books, middle grade and young adult titles, by authors including Andrew Larsen, Catherine Hernandez, Marie-Louise Gay, Lawrence Hill, Eric Walters, and more, plus many exciting debuts.

*****

Picture Books

Inspired by a true story, Journey of the Midnight Sun (March), by Shazia Afzal, illustrated by Aliya Ghare, reminds us that the collective dream of fostering a multicultural and tolerant Canada exists and that people of all backgrounds will come together to build bridges and overcome obstacles for the greater good of their neighbours. The cooking of a healthy breakfast moves from parent-child bonding to an eloquent conversation about energy, the growth of plants, and the miraculous ways the sun’s light nourishes us all in Sun in My Tummy (April), by Laura Alary and Andrea Blinick. Alary is also out with The Astronomer Who Questioned Everything (May), illustrated by Ellen Rooney, perfect for fans of STEM, an inspiring picture book biography telling the extraordinary story of pioneering astronomer Maria Mitchell.

Continue reading »

Most Anticipated: Our Spring 2022 Poetry Preview

This latest installment of our 2022 Spring Preview offers new books by celebrated poets including Paul Zits, Alexandra Oliver, Madhur Anand, Yvonne Blomer, Lorna Goodison, Evelyn Lau, Sarah Yi-Mei Tsiang, rob mclennan, Katherine Lawrence, and more, plus many exciting debuts.

*****

The poems in Maleea Acker’s Hesitating Once to Feel Glory (April) cajole and praise both the world and interior life with both an erotic charge and enduring hope. In Parasitic Oscillations (March), Madhur Anand examines various aspects of living and practicing as both a poet and scientist in the Anthropocene during a time of unravelling. And Hypatia’s Wake (June), by Susan Andrews Grace, presents Hypatia of Alexandria, the Neoplatonic philosopher, astronomer, and mathematician who was murdered by Christians in the fifth century.

Patterned on a series of dream states, David Barrick’s Nightlight (May) delves into the surreal nature of the human imagination, even at its most unconscious. In Cut to Fortress (April), Tawahum Bige confronts colonialism, relationships, grief a …

Continue reading »

Most Anticipated: Our Spring 2022 Nonfiction Preview

Our Spring Preview continues (Most Anticipated Fiction is out already!) with nonfiction, all the best of memoir, food writing, biography, history, the environment, science, politics, and so much more.

****

In Son of Elsewhere (May), Elamin Abdelmahmoud charts his life with wise, funny, and moving reflections on the many threads that weave together into an identity. In the innovative and intimate memoir I Am Because We Are (February), Chidiogo Akunyili-Parr tells the story of her mother, a pan-African hero who faced down misogyny and battled corruption in Nigeria. Animal as Machine (April), by Michel Anctil, explores the life, work, and ideas of scientists who, branding themselves as physiologists, subscribed to mechanistic concepts to explain how animals acquire and process food, breathe, circulate their blood, and sense their environment.

The world is desperate for cobalt. It fuels the digital economy and powers everything from cell phones to clean energy. But this “demon metal,” this “blood mineral,” has a horrific present and troubled histor …

Continue reading »

Most Anticipated: Our Spring 2022 Fiction Preview

Exciting new releases by Alexander MacLeod, Heather O'Neill, Lesley Crewe, Kim Fu, Lisa Moore, Rawi Hage, and more, plus great debuts that are going to knock your literary socks off.

****

A Knife in the Sky (June) is Haitian-Québécoise writer Marie-Célie Agnant’s most recent novel, translated by Katia Grubisic, a book preoccupied with colonial imposition and its weight specifically on women. In The Swells (January), a darkly hilarious satire by Will Aitken, class war erupts aboard a luxury cruise ship. A story of identity, connection and forgiveness, Anita Anand's A Convergence of Solitudes (May) shares the lives of two families across Partition of India, Operation Babylift in Vietnam, and two referendums in Quebec. Bestseller Kelley Armstrong returns to the captivating town of Rockton in The Deepest of Secrets (February), the next instalment in her celebrated crime series. Armstrong also releases A Rip Through Time (May), a series debut in which a modern-day homicide detective finds herself in Victorian Scotland—in an unfamiliar body—with a killer on the loose.

Book Cover I'm Alice

Continue reading »