amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Blog

Most Anticipated: Our 2018 Spring Books for Young Readers Preview

The final installment of our spring preview has finally arrived, with amazing picture books, early-readers and middle grade, and YA titles that will delight readers of all ages.

 

*****

Picture Books

Little Brothers and Sisters (April), by Monica Arnaldo, starts with four pairs of siblings in and around an apartment complex, each expressing through play and daily life the pleasures and pitfalls of living with and playing with siblings. In Counting on Katherine (June), Helaine Becker tells the bold story of Katherine Johnson, an African-American mathematician who worked for NASA during the space race and who was depicted in the film Hidden Figures, with illustartions by Dow Phumiruk. And Lana Button captures the apprehensions of a young student facing a substitute teacher for the first time in My Teacher's Not Here! (April), illustrated by Christine Battuz.

Award-winner Jan L. Coates' A Halifax Time Travelling Tune (June), with illustrations by Marijke Simons, is a rollicking, lyrical journey through 1950s’ Halifax. In Swimming With Seals (April), by Mag …

Continue reading »

Most Anticipated: Our 2018 Spring Nonfiction Preview

Our 2018 Spring Preview continues with spectacular nonfiction, books on art, literature and music, travellers and refugees, nature and history, fathers and family, marriage and feminism, and so much more.  

****

Sport literature is never just about sport; the essays in Writing the Body in Motion (May), edited by Angie Abdou and Jamie Dopp, offer a variety of ways to read, consider, teach, and write about sport literature. Homes (May), Abu Bakr al Rabeeah’s story as told to Winnie Yeung, tells of how a young boy emerged from a Syrian war zone to find safety in Canada. In Luminous Creatures (May), Michel Anctil shows how mythical perceptions of bioluminescence gradually gave way to a scientific understanding of its mechanisms, functions, and evolution, and to the recognition of its usefulness for biomedical and other applied fields. And Keetsahnak/Our Missing and Murdered Indigenous Sisters (April), edited by Kim Anderson, Maria Campbell, and Christi Belcourt, witnesses the significance of the travelling exhibition Walking With Our Sisters and creates a model for antiviolence work from an Indigenous perspective. 

Continue reading »

Most Anticipated: Our 2018 Spring Fiction Preview

It's here, it's here! Our preview of the forthcoming books we can't wait to be reading, starting with fiction. Here are the books that will be rocking CanLit in the first half of 2018. 

*****

In Rona Altrows’ At This Juncture (April), a woman plots to save Canada Post by inspiring people to start writing and mailing letters again. Bestselling nonfiction writer Katherine Ashenburg turns her hand to fiction with Sofie and Cecilia (March), a story of women’s friendship. Inspired by a true story, award-winner Sharon Bala’s first novel is The Boat People (January), which explores what it means to leave behind everything you have ever known to seek out a better life in a strange land. In Jackie Bateman’s Straight Circles (March), the final chapter of The Lizzy Trilogy, domestic satire meets gripping suspense. Andrew Batterhill’s debut, Pillow, was nominated for numerous prizes, the Scotiabank Giller among them, and he follows it up with Marry, Bang, Kill (March), a revisionist crime thriller hybrid of literary and genre fiction for fans of Elmore Leonard and Patrick deWitt. 

Continue reading »