amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

11461 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

El gusano. Coleccion Animalejos

illustrated by Elise Gravel
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 12
  • Grade: 1 to 7
tagged: insects, spiders, etc.

Worms have existed since dinosaurs populated the earth. They can't see because they don't have eyes. In some cultures they are considered delicious and are eaten, while in others they are thought of as disgusting. They are very good for nature so the next time you see one remember to be nice!

Los gusanos existen desde que los dinosaurios poblaban la …

rated!
rated!

El piojo. Coleccion Animalejos

illustrated by Elise Gravel
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 12
  • Grade: 1 to 7
tagged: biology

Did you know that only humans can get head lice? Or that these insects feed on blood 5 times a day? Perhaps you've heard that they prefer clean hair...? It's a myth! Find out about their habitat (your head!), anatomy (slightly see-throught) and habits and why if you see one, you should run a mile!

¿Sabías que solo los humanos podemos tener pi …

rated!
rated!

El murcielago. Coleccion Animalejos

illustrated by Elise Gravel
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 12
  • Grade: 1 to 7
tagged: nocturnal

Bats are the flying mammals on earth, and contrary to popular believe, they prefer to eat flies rather than human blood! They are important to nature and we have to protect them so if you come across one, let it sleep easy!

Los murciélagos son los únicos mamíferos que saben volar y en contra de la opinión que se tiene de ellos, prefieren c …

rated!
rated!

Flip, Flop, to the Beach We Go

by Ellen DeLange, illustrated by Anna Lindsten
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 9
  • Grade: p to 4
tagged: friendship

A sweet story in rhyme about enjoying a day at the sea. For little starfish and other water rats ages 4 years and up.

The sun is shining, cheerful, and bright. It tickles me awake with its happy light. Do you know where we’re going today? To the sea! Little doggy, will you come with me?

rated!
rated!

Les super six du hockey : No 4 - Les étoiles du match

illustrated by Kevin Sylvester
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: hockey, superheroes

 

See below for English description.

Benny, Jenny, Karl, Stella, DJ et Mo sont transformés lors d’une expérience qui tourne mal, et ils deviennent « l’équipe la plus super que le monde ait jamais vue ».Heureusement, car ils doivent affronter des joueurs de hockey tardigrades à plusieurs appendices DANS L’ESPACE! Il se trouve que le dernie …

rated!
rated!

Krista Kim-Bap

by Angela Ahn, read by Vicki Kim
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 9 to 13
  • Grade: 3 to 6
tagged: multigenerational, friendship, asian american

 

In debut author Angela Ahn’s middle grade novel, all Krista wants is to figure out the three F’s: food, family, and friends…

Krista and Jason have been best friends since preschool. It never mattered that he was a boy with reddish-brown hair and she was the “Korean girl” at school. Now in fifth grade, everyone in their class is preparing …

rated!
rated!

The Choice

by Kathy Clark, read by Mark Harrietha
edition: Audiobook
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 9 to 15
  • Grade: 6 to 9
tagged: holocaust, military & wars, prejudice & racism

 

Jakob and his family hide their Jewish identity in Nazi-occupied Hungary. Discovered, he is sent as a prisoner to Auschwitz where he keeps himself alive out of a desire for revenge on the friend he believes turned on him, only to discover when he is free that things are not as he thought.

Thirteen-year-old Jakob’s family has hidden their true ide …

rated!
rated!

Patient Zero (Revised Edition)

Solving the Mysteries of Deadly Epidemics

by Marilee Peters, read by Jo Vannicola
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback Hardcover eBook
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: history of science, diseases, illnesses & injuries, biology

 

Engrossing true stories of the pioneers of epidemiology who risked their lives to find the source of deadly diseases—now revised to include updated information and a new chapter on Covid-19.

More people have died in disease epidemics than in wars or other disasters, but the process of identifying these diseases and determining how they spread is …

rated!
rated!

The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza

by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Shawn Harris
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: science fiction, animals, action & adventure, cats, humorous

New York Times bestselling Mac Barnett and Caldecott Honor award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris turn their massively popular The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza live cartoon into an action-packed and hysterical graphic novel series—perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey, Raina Telgemeier, and Jeff Kinney. A Kids' Indie Next List Pick!

Something terrible i …

rated!
rated!

The Limitless Sky

by Christina Kilbourne
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 15
  • Grade: 7 to 10
tagged: dystopian, survival stories, recycling & green living

Rook and Gage live worlds apart — but somehow they must find a way to help one another survive.

Trapped in a life she didn’t choose, Rook struggles to find meaning in her appointed role as an apprentice Keeper of ArHK. Even though her mam soothes her with legends of the Outside and her da assures her there are many interesting facts to discover …