amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

2550 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Rule of Thirds

A Pippa Greene Novel

by Chantel Guertin, narrator Ana Sani
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 13 to 17
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: friendship, careers, occupations, internships, art

 

A fresh voice in YA fiction brings a charming heroine to life in this series debut

Sixteen-year-old Pippa Greene never goes anywhere without her camera. She and her best friend/supermodel-in-training Dace long ago mapped out their life plan: Pippa will be the noted fashion photographer, and Dace the cover girl. But ever since last spring, things ha …

rated!
rated!

Wolf's Bane

by Kelley Armstrong, read by Justis Bolding & Austin Rising
  • age: 14 to 17
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged:

Summer camp is a traditional teenage rite of passage, but when you add supernatural powers to the typically high dosage of adolescent hormones - you get an even more combustible mix. Sixteen-year-old werewolf twins Kate and Logan Danvers are none too thrilled at being shipped off to a supernatural youth leadership conference in West Virginia. 

From …

rated!
rated!

When Morning Comes

by Arushi Raina, narrator Jamie Bloch; John Fleming; Patience Mpumlwana & Tony Ofori
edition: Audiobook
also available: Hardcover Paperback
  • age: 13 to 17
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: prejudice & racism, class differences

 

It’s 1976 in South Africa, and four young people are living in Johannesburg and its black township, Soweto: Zanele, a black female student organizer; Meena, a South Asian girl working at her father's shop; Jack, an Oxford-bound white student; and Thabo, a teen-gang member, or tsotsi. From each of their points of view, this book explores the root …

rated!
rated!

The Secret of White Stone Gate

by Julia Nobel
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: mysteries & detective stories

Emmy and her friends battle the Order of Black Hollow Lane in the exciting sequel to the bestselling mystery series, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Blackthorn Key series.

When Lola is framed for a crime she didn't commit, the Order wants Emmy to give up her secrets about her father ... and if she doesn't someone she love …

rated!
rated!

Child Soldier

When Boys and Girls Are Used in War

by Michel Chikwanine & Jessica Dee Humphreys, illustrated by Claudia Dávila
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: military & wars, social activists, africa

Michel Chikwanine was five years old when he was abducted from his school-yard soccer game in the Democratic Republic of Congo and forced to become a soldier for a brutal rebel militia. Against the odds, Michel managed to escape and find his way back to his family, but he was never the same again. After immigrating to Canada, Michel was encouraged …

rated!
rated!

Bloom

by Kenneth Oppel
edition: eBook
also available: Hardcover Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: science fiction, environment

The first book in bestselling author Kenneth Oppel’s explosive new trilogy

It was just rain.

But after the downpour, odd black plants begin to shoot up.

Suddenly—

They. Are. Everywhere.

They take over fields and twine around houses. They bloom and throw off toxic pollen—and feed.

Strangely, three Salt Spring Island teens seem immune. Anaya, Petra a …

rated!
rated!

Comics Will Break Your Heart

A Novel

by Faith Erin Hicks
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 13
tagged: contemporary

Comics Will Break Your Heart is a sweet, funny contemporary teen romance for the inner geek in all of us from graphic novelist Faith Erin Hicks.

Miriam's family should be rich. After all, her grandfather was the co-creator of smash-hit comics series The TomorrowMen. But he sold his rights to the series to his co-creator in the 1960s for practically …

rated!
rated!

No One's Baby

by Wanda Lauren Taylor
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 3
tagged: pregnancy, runaways, emotions & feelings

Adopted by Caucasian parents, biracial teen Lizzie feels like she never belonged. After the death of her father, Lizzie starts acting out — dating, staying away from home for days and giving up her plans to continue her education. When Lizzie discovers she is pregnant, she is faced with the difficult choice of having a child or getting an abortio …

rated!
rated!

Rugby Rivals

by Mike Levitt
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 13
  • Grade: 3
tagged: peer pressure, values & virtues, self-esteem & self-reliance

Sam's grandfather, Pops, always taught Sam that the most important aspects of rugby are sportsmanship and teamwork. Things are not great at home, with Pops having Alzheimer's and Sam's mother trying to make ends meet, but Sam's struggles really begin when his school is shut down and he transfers to Rosedale Heights. Sam feels like he's alone agains …

Show editions