amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

5259 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Knight of the Rails

by Christine Welldon
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged:

Thirteen-year-old Billy Knight leaves home to 'ride the rails' across Canada during the 1930s. His encounters with a wide cast of characters — including fellow drifters and drifters and grifters, kid gangs, crooks, idealists, ragtag philosophers, and railroad bulls, as well as everyday folk simply trying to get by — provide much more than he ba …

rated!
rated!

Behind the Label

Gloria & Willa

by Lorna Schultz Nicholson
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: friendship

Gloria, an impulsive, naïve and likeable teen with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD), tries to keep her family together while their mother’s addictions threaten a move to foster care. Willa, an older teen with a learning disability (LD), wants to play in a rock band where her gifts truly shine, but her mother’s controlling and perfectioni …

rated!
rated!

Running Through It

by Lorie Scarfarotti
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: death & dying

p style="margin-bottom:10.0pt;line-height:115%;font-size:12.0pt;font-family:"Times New Roman",serif;">Over the course of a week, thirteen-year-old Track & Field runner, Josie Tomaselli, confronts multiple challenges with humour, confusion, fear, “lady balls,” and the inspiration of her pre-race music playlist.  As the big race approaches, she …

rated!
rated!

The Basketball Game

by Hart Snider, illustrated by Sean Covernton
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 11 to 13
  • Grade: 6 to 8
tagged: social topics, prejudice & racism

Healing wounds and changing worldviews, all though a simple game of basketball.

Nine-year-old Hart is attending Jewish summer camp for the first time. As if that isn't awkward enough, this summer the camp is going to play host to some very particular visitors, though the kids at camp don't know that yet.

What everyone else knows is that in a nearby …

rated!
rated!

Why Are You Still Here?

A Lillian Mystery

by Lynda Partridge & Dave Nicholson
edition: Paperback
  • age: 11 to 14
  • Grade: 6 to 9
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, mysteries & detective stories, ghost stories

This book continues the charming story of Lillian and Kokomis, the award-winning book about a complex and not-always-lovable foster kid who finds a sense of peace and belonging from a surprising spirit that returns her to traditional ways, legends, and Indigenous ways of knowledge. Why Are You Still Here? uncovers the mystery of ghosts and spirits …

rated!
rated!

A Venom Dark and Sweet

by Judy I. Lin
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: epic

The enthralling conclusion to Judy I. Lin's Book of Tea duology—#1 New York Times bestseller A Magic Steeped in Poison and A Venom Dark and Sweet—is sure to enchant fans of Adrienne Young and Leigh Bardugo.
A great evil has come to the kingdom of Dàxi. The Banished Prince has returned to seize power, his rise to the dragon throne aided by th …

rated!
rated!

Blood Like Fate

by Liselle Sambury, read by Joniece Abbott-Pratt
edition: Audiobook
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: contemporary, wizards & witches, multigenerational

In the spellbinding sequel to “breath of fresh air for the genre” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) Blood Like Magic, Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future, perfect for fans of Legendborn and Cemetery Boys.

Voya Thomas may have passed her Calling to become a full-fledged witch, but the cost was higher than she’d ever i …

rated!
rated!

The Great Bear

The Misewa Saga, Book Two

by David A. Robertson
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: fantasy & magic, native american, orphans & foster homes

In this second book in the Narnia-inspired Indigenous middle-grade fantasy series, Eli and Morgan journey once more to Misewa, travelling back in time.

Back at home after their first adventure in the Barren Grounds, Eli and Morgan each struggle with personal issues: Eli is being bullied at school, and tries to hide it from Morgan, while Morgan has t …

rated!
rated!

Ahiahia the Orphan

by Levi Illuitok, illustrated by Nate Wells
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: fairy tales, folklore, legends & mythology, action & adventure, historical, diversity & multicultural

After his parents are brutally murdered, Ahiahia is raised by his grandmother in a camp surrounded by enemies. His grandmother knows that eventually the camp will turn on Ahiahia, just as it did his parents, so she chants a protection chant over the clothing that she lovingly sews for him, over the amulet and necklace she gives him, even over the d …

Show editions