amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

4607 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

He Who Dreams

by Melanie Florence
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: dance, friendship, prejudice & racism

Juggling soccer, school, friends and family leaves John with little time for anything else.

One day at the local community center, following the sound of drums, he stumbles into an Indigenous dance class. Before he knows what's happening, John finds himself stumbling through beginner classes with a bunch of little girls, skipping soccer practice and …

rated!
rated!

Names in a Jar

by Jennifer Gold
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: holocaust, adoption, siblings

Twelve-year-old Anna Krawitz is imprisoned in the Warsaw Ghetto with her older sister, Lina, and their father. Happy days spent reading about anatomy and science in Papa’s bookshop are long gone, and the knowledge they have is used to help their neighbors through the illnesses caused by starvation and war.

With no hope in sight and supplies dwindl …

rated!
rated!

Another Miserable Love Song

by Brooke Carter
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: music, death & dying, self-esteem & self-reliance

Kallie Echo is starting to think dreams are dangerous. Her dad had one—to be a rock star—and then he died. Now Kallie is practically homeless and her life is falling apart. So when a punk band asks Kallie to sing for them, she must decide if she's got the heart to front a band of rocker chicks (and one trans guy). Can she find a new purpose in …

rated!
rated!

Crime Club

by Melodie Campbell
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, black comedy, law & crime

Sixteen-year-old Penny Capelli has moved with her mom and huge dog, Ollie, to live above a small-town pub owned by her aunt. It's a relief to start over in a place where no one knows her father is in prison. It's summer and the only person she knows is her nerdy cousin, Simon. Soon she meets Simon's best friend, Brent, and Brent's twin sister, Tara …

rated!
rated!

Stuffed

by Eric Walters
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook Audiobook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: values & virtues, cooking & food

Can Ian stand up for what he believes in?

When Ian and his classmates watch a documentary about the health concerns of eating fast food, Ian decides to start a boycott and stop everyone he can from eating at Frankie's, a huge fast-food chain with a questionable menu. The boycott takes off and Frankie's gets concerned. The company's lawyers threaten …

rated!
rated!

The Bones of Ruin

by Sarah Raughley, read by Ione Butler
edition: Audiobook
also available: eBook Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: historical, apocalyptic & post-apocalyptic

An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this thrilling historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.

As an African tightrope dancer in Victorian London, Iris is used to being strange. She is certainly a st …

rated!
rated!

Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen: The Dead Man in the Garden

by Marthe Jocelyn, illustrated by Isabelle Follath
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, european, law & crime

For young detective Aggie Morton and her friend Hector, a spa stay becomes a lot more thrilling when TWO dead bodies are found in this third book in the Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen series, inspired by the life of Agatha Christie as a child and her most popular creation, Hercule Poirot. For fans of Enola Holmes.

Aspiring writer Aggie Morton is ready …

rated!
rated!

Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen: Peril at Owl Park

by Marthe Jocelyn, illustrated by Isabelle Follath
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, christmas & advent, law & crime

For young detective Aggie Morton and her friend Hector, Christmas becomes a lot more exciting when a dead body is found in this second book in the Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen series, inspired by the life of Agatha Christie as a child and her most popular creation, Hercule Poirot. For fans of The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency.

Aspiring writer Aggi …

rated!
rated!

The Last Beautiful Girl

by Nina Laurin
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: horror

Fans of Black Mirror and There's Someone Inside Your House will devour this disturbing story about a dark descent into social media fame. Izzy is determined to use her family's new mansion, and the treasures inside, to outshine everyone in her new town, even when it's clear that something—or someone—in the house has deadly intentions...

When Isa …

Show editions