amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

13943 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Rescue

by Marie Etchell
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: pets

Twelve—year—old Charlie's life is in tatters: his parents are splitting, he's quit soccer, he hasn't had a growth spurt like all his friends, and he wants a dog more than anything. When he volunteers at the vet's, he meets Buster, the Chocolate Labrador Retriever with magical powers who flies Charlie through a series of adventures in which he r …

rated!
rated!

Pax, Journey Home

by Sara Pennypacker, illustrated by Jon Klassen
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: friendship, multigenerational, foxes

From award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes the long-awaited sequel to Pax; this is a gorgeously crafted, utterly compelling novel about chosen families and the healing power of love. A New York Times bestseller!

It’s been a year since Peter and his pet fox, Pax, have seen each other. Once inseparable, they now lead very different lives.

Pax a …

rated!
rated!

Sprout Branches Out

illustrated by Jessika von Innerebner
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged:

Discover the unbe-leaf-ably adorable story of a young plant with mulch to learn in this feel-good tale perfect for fans of The Bad Seed and Grumpy Monkey.
Sprout the plant lives on a small porch, in a little town. She’s only been able to grow two leaves and knows exactly why. Home is just not enough for her – she needs to venture out to the wi …

rated!
rated!

Ary's Trees

by Deborah Kerbel, illustrated by Sophia Choi
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 5 to 8
  • Grade: k to 3
tagged:

Young Ary's new home is a lush, tree—covered paradise. But when nature takes a back seat to progress, the island's future is threatened. Can Ary and her friends save the trees before it's too late?
Ary's Trees is an eco—parable about the importance of environmental preservation and activism.

rated!
rated!

Anzu the Great Listener

illustrated by Benson Shum
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: mythical

In this follow-up to Anzu the Great Kaiju, created by Walt Disney Studios animator Benson Shum, we follow sweet and well-intentioned Anzu as he learns a valuable lesson about patience and empathy in the face of sadness—perfect for fans of The Rabbit Listened.
Anzu the kaiju loves to tend to his bonsai.
Whenever he feels overwhelmed or unsettled, …

rated!
rated!

Awesome Orange Birthday: A Branches Book (The Party Diaries #1)

by Mitali Banerjee Ruths, illustrated by Aaliya Jaleel
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 5 to 7
  • Grade: k to 2
tagged: chapter books, diversity & multicultural

In this full-color early chapter book series, Priya starts a party-planning business to help save the planet -- one party at a time!

 

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line, Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations …

rated!
rated!

When Sally Met Harry

by Paulette Bourgeois, illustrated by Brooke Kerrigan
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: new baby, dogs

Goldendoodle meets baby in this fun story about adapting to a new sibling!

 

There’s a new baby joining the household, and Sally the goldendoodle doesn’t know what to think!

“Everything will change,” warn her friends at the dog park.

Sure enough, once baby Harry arrives, Sally feels neglected. Everybody is focused on the new baby and nobody has …

rated!
rated!

Night Owl (Upside-Down Magic #8)

by Emily Jenkins; Lauren Myracle & Sarah Mlynowski
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged:

The Upside-Down Magic kids are back in another topsy-turvy adventure in the next installment of this New York Times bestselling series!

 

It’s Big Night in Dunwiddle . . . and that means the whole school has a sleepover like no other. For one night every year, magic students run through the halls, hunting for the objects that will win them a super …

rated!
rated!

Brady Brady and the Super Skater

by Mary Shaw, illustrated by Chuck Temple
edition: Paperback
  • age: 3 to 8
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: hockey, values & virtues, friendship

The Icehogs have a new player — and she’s a super skater!

 

Brady hasn’t seen anyone skate faster than Caroline. But when it comes time to putting the puck in the net, she can’t quite connect.

Brady soon realizes it’s because she can’t see properly, but like many kids, Caroline doesn’t want to wear her glasses. A little understanding and …

Show editions