amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

772 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Harvey and the Extraordinary

by Eliza Martin, illustrated by Anna Bron
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 11
  • Grade: 3 to 6
tagged: marriage & divorce, emotions & feelings, circus

Imaginative, self-confident, EXTRAORDINARY Mimi steps into the spotlight in this charming debut with an emotional heart.

If you were to imagine an extraordinary moment of destiny, I bet you wouldn’t imagine it in a kitchen on a particularly ordinary Wednesday. I bet you wouldn’t imagine a plate of cheese and crackers or a replacement best friend …

rated!
rated!

Living With Viola

by Rosena Fung
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: depression & mental illness, self-esteem & self-reliance

Heartbreakingly honest and quietly funny, this graphic novel from a debut creator is a refreshingly real exploration of mental health, cultural differences, and the trials of middle school.

Livy is already having trouble fitting in as the new girl at school—and then there’s Viola. Viola is Livy’s anxiety brought to life, a shadowy twin that on …

rated!
rated!

Sorry For Your Loss

by Joanne Levy
edition: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: death & dying, jewish, friendship, orphans & foster homes

Evie Walman is not obsessed with death. She does think about it a lot, though, but only because her family runs a Jewish funeral home. At twelve, Evie already knows she’s going to be a funeral director when she grows up. So what if the kids at school call her “corpse girl” and say she smells like death? They’re just mean and don’t get how …

rated!
rated!

One Princess, Two Castles

by Amy Tyson, illustrated by Diane Lucas
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 9
  • Grade: k to 4
tagged: marriage & divorce, emotions & feelings, new experience, self-esteem & self-reliance

One Princess, Two Castles is a catalyst that will help children understand that their parents will no longer be staying together, nor will they be living in one house all together again.

This illustrated picture book is about a child named Princess T whose parents are no longer staying together and therefore are moving into separate castles. Princes …

rated!
rated!

The Undercover Book List

by Colleen Nelson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: friendship, school & education, self-esteem & self-reliance, books & libraries

 

He's known as the class troublemaker. She's known as the bookworm. But when every note they send is anonymous, identity is suddenly what they make it.

Between her father's posting overseas and her best friend Sienna's move to the other side of the country, seventh grade is looking lonely for Jane MacDonald. But Sienna has left her with one last tr …

rated!
rated!

Math Hacks 2

Stress Less + Do Better

by Vanessa Vakharia, illustrated by Hyein Lee
edition: Paperback
  • age: 7 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 6
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, mindfulness & meditation

 

Feeling jinxed by geometry? Messed up by measurement? Antagonized by angles? Don't worry — help is here!

 

 

Written in The Math Guru's signature super-friendly style, Math Hacks 2 is packed with all-new advice on reducing math anxiety, de-stressing, self-care, test preparation strategies and how to make math your new BFF!

This full-colour book tack …

rated!
rated!

Walking in Two Worlds

by Wab Kinew
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, self-esteem & self-reliance

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

Bugz is caught between two worlds. In the real world, she's a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angs …

Show editions