amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

625 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Scaredy Squirrel In a Nutshell

by Melanie Watt
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: animals, self-esteem & self-reliance, humorous

The time is now for this anxious little guy: Scaredy Squirrel is back with a brand-new graphic novel series! He's funnier (and scared-ier) than ever, and perfect for readers of Narwhal and Jelly.

Scaredy is happy to stay in his nut tree. Why would he ever leave? The outside is filled with dangers. Like aliens! And dust! And a certain fluffy bunny wh …

rated!
rated!

My Year as a Space Cadet

by Hope Dalvay
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance

Page Stuart's perfectly organized life is flipped upside down...again.

Page is in unfamiliar territory as the new kid at school. To make matters worse, Shale Pit Academy of Creativity and Excellence (or "SPACE" as it is more commonly known) is no ordinary school. Students there have the dubious distinction of being nicknamed "SPACE cadets." No, not …

rated!
rated!

Lost on the Prairie

by MaryLou Driedger
edition: eBook
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: post-confederation (1867-), survival stories, 19th century

Set between Kansas and Saskatchewan in 1907, this middle-grade novel follows a young boy who gets separated from his family en route to Canada and must find his way alone across the immense prairie landscape.

Following the sudden death of his eldest brother, twelve-year-old Peter is chosen by his father to travel by train from Kansas to Saskatchewan …

rated!
rated!

What's in it for Me?

by LS Stone
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: elephants, non-classifiable

What's in it for Me? - Summer is only a month away, but things aren't going according to plan for fifteen-year-old Nick Bannerman. Nick dreams of making it big in music, and summer means scoring a deal for his band, mega parties, surfing in Tofino--and not much else. His best friend, Trevor, wants him to spend the summer with him in Africa building …

rated!
rated!

Like a Duck

by Deborah Kerbel
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, friendship, emotions & feelings

 

From the author of My Deal with the Universe, a lighthearted, tender story of a girl and her steadfast duck.

 

I spend a lot of time thinking about what Grandad said that day Webster first went missing. How if you spend too much time dwelling on the things you’ve lost, you might not notice what you’ve got in its place. And how sometimes those th …

rated!
rated!

Firefly

by Philippa Dowding
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, homelessness & poverty

Firefly lived in the park across from her mother’s home. It was safer there. But after the bad night happens, and her baseball-bat-wielding mother is taken away, social services sends Firefly to live with her Aunt Gayle. She hardly knows Gayle, but discovers that she owns a costume shop.

Yes, Firefly might be suffering from PTSD, but she can get u …

rated!
rated!

Body Image

Deal with it because all bodies are great bodies

by Tierra Hohn, illustrated by Marne Grahlman
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 14
  • Grade: 4 to 9
tagged: social topics, emotions & feelings, self-esteem & self-reliance, bullying

Too fat, too thin. Muffin top, flat bum, thunder thighs, spaghetti arms. From an early age, kids learn they are judged for how they look. Both boys and girls are bombarded with messages of what they should look like and are shamed for not measuring up. When kids encounter conflict based on stereotypes of body image, they need the understanding and …

rated!
rated!

Last Pick

by David Starr
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 10 to 13
  • Grade: 3.8
tagged: basketball, self-esteem & self-reliance, bullying, girls & women, special needs

Last Pick shows how determination can help overcome obstacles — even bullying. Growing up with a developmental condition that left her clumsy in both movement and speech, Jazz was teased and never had the chance to play team sports. Now rid of her symptoms, Jazz is ready to play basketball at her Vancouver junior high, but the reappearance of an …

Show editions