amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

455 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Depth of Field

by Natasha Deen
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, emotions & feelings, crime

When Josh Biswas found out his girlfriend, Lian, was cheating on him, it didn’t only break his heart, it threatened his GPA.

Lian calls him boring and turns in their joint photography project in as her own, leaving Josh to come up with something alone or risk a failing grade. Determined to prove her wrong, Josh decides to head to the foothills of …

rated!
rated!

Face the Music

by Lesley Choyce
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: runaways, peer pressure, self-esteem & self-reliance, crime

Tyler and Mason dream of escaping to the big city and getting started on their lives.

One night, Mason convinces Tyler to help him steal a car and they are soon having the adventure of a lifetime. Until they run out of gas. Stranded on the side of the highway, Mason blames Tyler, Tyler blames Mason and their argument turns physical. Their fight is b …

rated!
rated!

Bruised

by Tanya Boteju
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, self-esteem & self-reliance, death & dying

“A searing portrait of self-discovery; soulful and captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews
Whip It meets We Are Okay in this vibrant coming-of-age story about a teen girl navigating first love, identity, and grief as she immerses herself in the colorful, brutal, beautiful world of roller derby—from the acclaimed author of Kings, Queens, and In-Betwee …

rated!
rated!

In the Serpent's Wake

by Rachel Hartman
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: fantasy & magic, medieval

Tess sets out a sea-faring adventure to stop a war in the latest fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hartman.

Tess has a mission from the Queen: sail across the oceans to the bottom of the world and prevent a war. Unbeknownst to the Queen, Tess also intends to find the last World Serpent -- a once-mythical creature with the magical …

rated!
rated!

The Legend

by Jean Mills
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 16
  • Grade: 5 to 11
tagged: hockey

Griffin Tardiff is still suffering from a serious hockey injury at the start of a new year in a new school. But he's in luck. For his community credit, hell be working with the sports guy at the local radio station, which could be the start of a career. He also meets Noah, a young kid from the neighbourhood who also likes hockey.

Unfortunately, his …

rated!
rated!

The Delusionist

by Don Calame
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: friendship, self-esteem & self-reliance, theater & musicals

Quinn’s illusions are as good as those in any Vegas act—but can he win a spot at a prestigious magic camp despite an upstaging partner, a cute rival, and a con-artist mentor?

Fifteen-year-old Quinn Purcell wants only one thing: to win a coveted spot at the Masters of Magic Fantasy Camp. But the competition is stiff, including Dani Darling, an i …

rated!
rated!

Another Miserable Love Song

by Brooke Carter
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: music, death & dying, self-esteem & self-reliance

Kallie Echo is starting to think dreams are dangerous. Her dad had one—to be a rock star—and then he died. Now Kallie is practically homeless and her life is falling apart. So when a punk band asks Kallie to sing for them, she must decide if she's got the heart to front a band of rocker chicks (and one trans guy). Can she find a new purpose in …

rated!
rated!

Walking in Two Worlds

by Wab Kinew
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, self-esteem & self-reliance

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

Bugz is caught between two worlds. In the real world, she's a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angs …

Show editions