amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

508 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Everlasting Road

by Wab Kinew
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, self-esteem & self-reliance

The boundaries between the virtual and the real world become dangerously blurred for a young Indigenous girl in the follow-up to the YA fantasy debut Walking in Two Worlds from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

 Devastated by the loss of her beloved older brother to cancer, Bugz …

rated!
rated!

Road of the Lost

by Nafiza Azad
edition: eBook
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: loners & outcasts

Perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince, this gorgeous young adult fantasy follows a girl who discovers she’s spent her life under an enchantment hiding her true identity on her quest into the magical Otherworld to unlock her powers and discover her destiny.

Even the most powerful magic can’t hide a secret forever.
Croi is a brownie, glamoured to …

rated!
rated!

Walking in Two Worlds

by Wab Kinew
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, self-esteem & self-reliance

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

In the real world, Bugz is a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angst and reserve life. But in the vi …

rated!
rated!

Suck It In and Smile

by Laurence Beaudoin-Masse, translated by Shelley Tanaka
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 17
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, computers & digital media, eating disorders & body image

A funny, touching look at the life of a social media influencer who starts to question the #goals life she has created for herself.

Every day, Ellie motivates her hundreds of thousands of followers to become the best versions of themselves by posting videos of exercise routines and high-protein breakfast recipes. Far from the shy teenager that she w …

rated!
rated!

Fly

by Alison Hughes
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: stories in verse

A novel in free verse about a middle schooler who discovers he's not the only one grappling with the imperfections of the world.

In this powerful novel in free verse, Felix Landon Yarrow (F.L.Y., or “Fly”), a fourteen-year-old boy with cerebral palsy, is captivated by the noble, chivalrous ideals of knighthood. So when he fears that a school vil …

rated!
rated!

Call Me Bill

by (artist) Lynette Richards, introduction by Emily Burton
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 16
  • Grade: 7 to 11
tagged: history, social topics, lgbtq+

A gorgeously illustrated historical graphic novel based on a real person who, defying gender expectations, left home in search of adventure and a more authentic life.

It was April 1, 1873. In the middle of the night, Sarah Jane spotted flares off the coast of her island home. She woke her father, who quickly gathered their neighbours. Over the next …

rated!
rated!

Union

by Sara Cassidy
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, contemporary, dating & sex, sexual abuse, novels in verse

Tuck navigates new love, past trauma and standing up for what's right in this novel in verse.

Grace has caught my eye
I stare and stare
at this girl I’ve missed
since we were five

Abuse at the hands of his mother's boyfriend has left fifteen-year-old Tuck broken and untrusting. But then he falls hard for his childhood friend Grace and starts to …

Show editions