amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

381 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel

by Christina Soontornvat, illustrated by Joanna Cacao
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: cheerleading, prejudice & racism

From two-time Newbery Honoree and Kirkus Prize winner Christina Soontornvat, and stellar new talent, Joanna Cacao, comes a high stakes, highly relatable graphic novel about courage and competition, friendship and belonging, and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. Perfect for fans of New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

 

Trying out for m …

rated!
rated!

Searching Beyond the Stars

Seven Women in Science Take On Space's Biggest Questions

by Nicole Mortillaro, illustrated by Amanda Key
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: aeronautics, astronautics & space science, women, science & technology

Are we alone in the cosmos? Could we one day live on a different planet? How is life formed? What other secrets does the universe hold? 

Through profiles of seven remarkable women scientists and their achievements in their respective fields, Searching Beyond the Stars takes us deep into space, looking at once to the distant past and the distant futu …

rated!
rated!

The Secret of the Jade Bangle

by Linda Trinh, illustrated by Clayton Nguyen
edition: Paperback
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: siblings, prejudice & racism, asian american

"Engaging and empowering"--STARRED review, Nonstop Reader

A charming early chapter book series that explores Vietnamese culture and identity through the eyes of the Nguyen siblings, with elements of the supernatural, spirituality, and social justice woven in. 

Organized and introspective nine-year-old Anne Nguyen misses her Grandma Nội, a lot. But …

rated!
rated!

Weird Rules to Follow

by Kim Spencer
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: friendship, adolescence, prejudice & racism, multigenerational, native canadian

Mia knows her family is very different than her best friend's.

In the 1980s, the coastal fishing town of Prince Rupert is booming. There is plenty of sockeye salmon in the nearby ocean, which means the fishermen are happy and there is plenty of work at the cannery. Eleven-year-old Mia and her best friend, Lara, have known each other since kindergart …

rated!
rated!

The Prisoner and the Writer

by Heather Camlot, illustrated by Sophie Casson
edition: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: prejudice & racism, europe, religion & faith

When a Jewish army captain is falsely accused of treason and sent to prison, a writer uses his pen to fight for justice.

In 1895 a prisoner watches the ocean through the bars of his cell. Accused of betraying France, Captain Alfred Dreyfus is exiled to a prison on Devil’s Island, far from his wife and children. It’s a horrible fate — but what …

rated!
rated!

The Basketball Game

by Hart Snider, illustrated by Sean Covernton
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 11 to 13
  • Grade: 6 to 8
tagged: social topics, prejudice & racism

Healing wounds and changing worldviews, all though a simple game of basketball.

Nine-year-old Hart is attending Jewish summer camp for the first time. As if that isn't awkward enough, this summer the camp is going to play host to some very particular visitors, though the kids at camp don't know that yet.

What everyone else knows is that in a nearby …

Show editions