amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

339 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Moonwalking

by Zetta Elliott & Lyn Miller-Lachmann
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: prejudice & racism

For fans of Jason Reynolds and Jacqueline Woodson, this middle-grade novel-in-verse follows two boys in 1980s Brooklyn as they become friends for a season.
Punk rock-loving JJ Pankowski can't seem to fit in at his new school in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, as one of the only white kids. Pie Velez, a math and history geek by day and graffiti artist by nig …

rated!
rated!

The Underground Railroad

Next Stop, Toronto!

by Adrienne Shadd; Afua Cooper & Karolyn Smardz Frost
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback Paperback
  • age: 12 to 15
  • Grade: 7 to 10
tagged: african american, canada

Stories of the hopeful, brave people who fled slavery and made Toronto their home.

“An engaging and highly readable account of the lives of Black people in Toronto in the 1800s.” — Lawrence Hill, bestselling author of The Illegal

The Underground Railroad: Next Stop, Toronto! is a richly illustrated book that explores Toronto’s role as a desti …

rated!
rated!

Le racisme et les stéréotypes

by Simon Rose/Kathleen Corrigan
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 11
  • Grade: 5 to 6
tagged:
rated!
rated!

Chasing Bats and Tracking Rats

Urban Ecology, Community Science, and How We Share Our Cities

by Cylita Guy, illustrated by Cornelia Li
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: biology, environmental science & ecosystems, experiments & projects

Gripping narrative non-fiction with STEM and social justice themes that proves cities can be surprisingly wild places—and why understanding urban nature matters.

What can city bees tell us about climate change? How are we changing coyote behavior? And what the heck is a science bike? Featuring the work of a diverse group of eleven scientists—her …

rated!
rated!

Aggie and Mudgy

The Journey of Two Kaska Dena Children

by Wendy Proverbs
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: native canadian, prejudice & racism, physical & emotional abuse

Based on the true story of the author’s biological mother and aunt, this middle-grade novel traces the long and frightening journey of two Kaska Dena sisters as they are taken from their home to attend residential school.

When Maddy discovers an old photograph of two little girls in her grandmother’s belongings, she wants to know who they are. …

rated!
rated!

Hunting by Stars

(A Marrow Thieves Novel)

by Cherie Dimaline
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: dystopian, prejudice & racism, aboriginal & indigenous

The thrilling follow-up to the bestselling, award-winning novel The Marrow Thieves, about a dystopian world where the Indigenous people of North America are being hunted for their bone marrow and ability to dream.

Years ago, when plagues and natural disasters killed millions of people, much of the world stopped dreaming. Without dreams, people are h …

rated!
rated!

Under the Iron Bridge

by Kathy Kacer
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 14
  • Grade: 7 to 9
tagged: holocaust, europe, prejudice & racism

It’s 1938 in Dusseldorf, Germany, and Paul is feeling pressured to join the Hitler Youth. The last thing he wants to do is march around with a bunch of bullies, supporting the Gestapo and abusing the city’s Jews, but even Paul’s parents think he should go along with his classmates in order to keep himself safe.

Just when he’s starting to des …

Show editions