amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

382 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel

by Christina Soontornvat, illustrated by Joanna Cacao
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: cheerleading, prejudice & racism

From two-time Newbery Honoree and Kirkus Prize winner Christina Soontornvat, and stellar new talent, Joanna Cacao, comes a high stakes, highly relatable graphic novel about courage and competition, friendship and belonging, and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. Perfect for fans of New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

 

Trying out for m …

rated!
rated!

Searching Beyond the Stars

Seven Women in Science Take On Space's Biggest Questions

by Nicole Mortillaro, illustrated by Amanda Key
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: aeronautics, astronautics & space science, women, science & technology

Are we alone in the cosmos? Could we one day live on a different planet? How is life formed? What other secrets does the universe hold? 

Through profiles of seven remarkable women scientists and their achievements in their respective fields, Searching Beyond the Stars takes us deep into space, looking at once to the distant past and the distant futu …

rated!
rated!

Weird Rules to Follow

by Kim Spencer
edition: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: friendship, prejudice & racism, multigenerational, native canadian, adolescence

“Readers will be left with a rich image of Mia’s world and the family and people that surround her as well as a strong sense of how culture and class impact people’s experiences. A touching exploration of identity and culture.”—Kirkus Reviews

Mia knows her family is very different than her best friend's.

In the 1980s, the coastal fishing …

rated!
rated!

The Secret of the Jade Bangle

by Linda Trinh, illustrated by Clayton Nguyen
edition: Paperback
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: siblings, prejudice & racism, asian american

“Engaging and empowering” —STARRED review, Nonstop Reader

A charming early chapter book series that explores Vietnamese culture and identity through the eyes of the Nguyen siblings, with elements of the supernatural, spirituality, and social justice woven in. 

Organized and introspective nine-year-old Anne Nguyen misses her Grandma Nội, a lot …

rated!
rated!

The Prisoner and the Writer

by Heather Camlot, illustrated by Sophie Casson
edition: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: prejudice & racism, europe, religion & faith

When a Jewish army captain is falsely accused of treason and sent to prison, a writer uses his pen to fight for justice.

In 1895 a prisoner watches the ocean through the bars of his cell. Accused of betraying France, Captain Alfred Dreyfus is exiled to a prison on Devil’s Island, far from his wife and children. It’s a horrible fate — but what …

rated!
rated!

My Name Is Seepeetza

30th Anniversary Edition

by Shirley Sterling, afterword by Tomson Highway
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: native canadian, prejudice & racism, post-confederation (1867-)

An honest look at life in an Indian residential school in the 1950s, and how one indomitable young spirit survived it — 30th anniversary edition.

Seepeetza loves living on Joyaska Ranch with her family. But when she is six years old, she is driven to the town of Kalamak, in the interior of British Columbia. Seepeetza will spend the next several ye …

Show editions