amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

1642 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Wingmaker

by Dave Cameron, illustrated by David Huyck
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: butterflies, moths & caterpillars, insects, spiders, etc.

A mix of humor and fact keep the interest high in this creative take on the ever-popular subject of metamorphosis, in which a curious --- and inventive --- old caterpillar has an unusual technique for transforming into a moth.

Gramma Tinker is an old, old caterpillar who lives at the end of a cherry tree branch. Leaf and Lou, ant friends who live an …

rated!
rated!

Dinosaur Countdown

illustrated by Nicholas Oldland
edition: Hardcover
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 6
  • Grade: p to 1
tagged: counting & numbers, dinosaurs & prehistoric creatures

In this simple and clever picture book from Nicholas Oldland, small children will have fun counting backward, as they're introduced to different dinosaurs grouped from ten to two, and a final, single dinosaur. Then, in a unique twist, the book goes on to “zero” dinosaurs as well (because “they're extinct, silly!”). Each number gets its own …

rated!
rated!

This Is a Dog Book!

by Judith Henderson, illustrated by Julien Chung
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: humorous stories, dogs

In a rib-tickling display of duplicity and diversion, a bunny tries to show he has what it takes to be included in this dog book.

“How did the bunny get on the cover?” “I don't know.” “There ARE bunny books, you know.” “I'm not a bunny. I'm a dog.”

To get into this dog book, a bunny attempts to prove to some skeptical dogs that he's o …

rated!
rated!

Different? Same!

by Heather Tekavec, illustrated by Pippa Curnick
edition: Hardcover
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 6
  • Grade: p to 1
tagged: opposites

This clever picture book introduces the concept of animal characteristics by highlighting how there can be both differences and similarities within a group. For example, the zebra gallops, the bumblebee flies, the lemur leaps and the tiger prowls --- “But look closer now ... We all have STRIPES!” And so it goes. Again and again, readers will be …

rated!
rated!

Extremely Gross Animals

Stinky, Slimy and Strange Animal Adaptations?

by Claire Eamer
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 7 to 10
  • Grade: 2 to 5
tagged: zoology

All things disgusting are featured in this weird and wonderful exploration of the grossest of the gross in the animal kingdom. (Barf bag not included!)

Snot. Vomit. Spit. Poop. Everyone knows these are gross, right? Well, for some animals, they're crucial ingredients for survival! This book describes more than 30 of these animals --- the grossest of …

rated!
rated!

Poem in My Pocket

by Chris Tougas, illustrated by Josée Bisaillon
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: poetry (see also stories in verse), words

In this charming picture book allegory of the creative writing process, happenstance and weather events symbolize the emotional ebb and flow of writing a poem.

I had a poem in my pocket, but my pocket got a rip. Rhymes tumbled down my leg and trickled from my hip.

Thus begins the journey of a young poet's words out into the world, where they join ran …

rated!
rated!

Scaredy Squirrel In a Nutshell

by Mélanie Watt
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: animals, self-esteem & self-reliance, humorous

The time is now for this anxious little guy: Scaredy Squirrel is back with a brand-new graphic novel series! He's funnier (and scared-ier) than ever, and perfect for readers of Narwhal and Jelly.

Scaredy is happy to stay in his nut tree. Why would he ever leave? The outside is filled with dangers. Like aliens! And dust! And a certain fluffy bunny wh …

rated!
rated!

Cranky Right Now

by Julie Berry, illustrated by Holly Hatam
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: emotions & feelings

Sometimes we’re all cranky, and that’s okay!Cranky Right Now shows kids how to deal with those cranky days.
Cranky Right Nowbrings a much-needed message to kids: sometimes we’re all cranky. Maybe we’re tired, we’re hungry, or we’re just feeling grumpy. Dealing with emotions can be hard.Cranky Right Nowis a fun and funny ride through th …

rated!
rated!

Do You Know Where the Animals Live?

Discovering the Incredible Creatures All Around Us

by Peter Wohlleben, translated by Shelley Tanaka
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 10
  • Grade: 3 to 5
tagged: animal welfare, trees & forests

From the New York Times-bestselling author of The Hidden Life of Trees and The Inner Life of Animals comes a book for kids ages 8-12 about animals at home and around the world. Get ready to become an animal expert!

Perfect for STEM home-schooling, online learning, and outdoor education.

Have you ever wondered …. 

  • Are worms afraid of the rain?
rated!
rated!

1, 2, 3, Off to School!

illustrated by Marianne Dubuc
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: school & education, new experience

In this playful take on school readiness by award-winning author-illustrator Marianne Dubuc, a child visits their friends' schools and discovers how many wonderful things kindergarteners do in a day!

Pom is ready for the first day of kindergarten. Not the real first day, that's not for another year. But Pom has been hearing a lot from all the animal …