amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

2080 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Let’s Add Up!

by Victoria Allenby, illustrated by Maggie Zeng
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: counting & numbers, arithmetic, toys, dolls & puppets

6 pots + 4 pans = 10 dishes…or a feast! With the imaginative play of these creative preschoolers, exploring the concepts of categorization and adding up to 10 has never been so much fun.

If you ask a grown-up to add up 8 cars + 2 trucks, they’ll probably say that’s 10 vehicles. And it’s true. But these 10 young friends know what else those …

rated!
rated!

While You Sleep

by Jennifer Maruno, illustrated by Miki Sato
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: bedtime & dreams, imagination & play, stories in verse

Breathtaking collage art and exquisite rhyming couplets showcase fantastical dreams as the natural world is prepared for a new day in this gentle bedtime book.

As the day ends and a little girl is put to sleep by her mother, night-helper bunnies work their magic to tidy and polish the world. These helpers paint flowers, dust butterflies, and charge …

rated!
rated!

I'm 8, It's Great Mad Libs

World's Greatest Word Game

by Kim Ostrow
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: activity books, grammar, birthdays

Mad Libs is the world’s greatest word game and the perfect gift or activity for anyone who likes to laugh! Write in the missing words on each page to create your own hilariously funny stories all about being 8!  

Throw those velcro shoes away and put on those laced ones -- you're 8, you're great, and you're old enough to VERB! With 21 “fill-in-t …

rated!
rated!

A Bear, a Bee, and a Honey Tree

by Daniel Bernstrom, illustrated by Brandon James Scott
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: bears, humorous stories, insects, spiders, etc.

Boisterous and buzzing, A Bear, a Bee, and a Honey Tree is destined to be an instant classic . . . with delightully funny illustrations and clever, fun-to-read text, from the acclaimed author of One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree.

When a hungry, fuzzy brown bear and a hive of angry bees come face to face, everybody's abuzz! Award-winning aut …

rated!
rated!

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel

by Christina Soontornvat, illustrated by Joanna Cacao
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: cheerleading, prejudice & racism

From two-time Newbery Honoree and Kirkus Prize winner Christina Soontornvat, and stellar new talent, Joanna Cacao, comes a high stakes, highly relatable graphic novel about courage and competition, friendship and belonging, and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. Perfect for fans of New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

 

Trying out for m …

rated!
rated!

Histoires de guerre

by Gordon Korman
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: multigenerational, emotions & feelings, military & wars

 

See below for English description.

Il y a deux choses que Trevor aime plus que tout : jouer à des jeux vidéo de guerre et son arrière-grand-père Jacob, un véritable héros de guerre. Plusieurs décennies sont passées, et Jacob veut remarcher sur les traces qu’il a suivies pendant la guerre. Mais une fois leur périple commencé, Trevor déc …

rated!
rated!

The Rocking Horse

by Sheryl McFarlane, illustrated by Francois Thisdale
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: k to 2
tagged: imagination & play, toys, dolls, puppets, horses, multigenerational

When the rocking horse is first given to his boy, they imagine grand adventures together: chases in the wild west, dashes across medieval drawbridges, and daring rodeo performances. Then as the boy grows up, they play together less and less. The rocking horse begins to despair until the boy’s little sister climbs on his back and he learns he has …

rated!
rated!

Listen Up! Train Song

by Victoria Allenby
edition: Hardcover
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: railroads & trains, sounds

Where do the trains go?
There and back.
Let’s sing a train song
All down the track.

Toddlers and babies love trains and the noises they make. Listen Up! Train Song uses repeating verse and bright photographs to match this enthusiasm with a unique take on the conceptual sound book that is perfect for reading aloud. Each spread uses onomatopoeia …

rated!
rated!

Paulina

The Story of an Almost Unlucky Pig

by Hans Limmer, translated by Shelley Tanaka, illustrated by David Crossley
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: pigs, country life, farm & ranch life, friendship

A timeless story about the connection between a young girl and her pet pig for kids 4 to 8, featuring nostalgic, 1960s photographs that kids will love, and parents will too!

Have you ever dreamed of having a pet pig? 

When Angela finds a lost pig wandering on the road, she adopts her and names her Paulina. Together, the two explore the small Greek is …

rated!
rated!

Phoenix Gets Greater

by Marty Wilson-Trudeau, illustrated by Megan Kyak-Monteith, with Phoenix Wilson
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: k to 3
tagged: native canadian, lgbt, self-esteem & self-reliance

Phoenix loves to play with dolls and marvel at pretty fabrics. Most of all, he loves to dance—ballet, Pow Wow dancing, or just swirling and twirling around his house. Sometimes Phoenix gets picked on and he struggles with feeling different, but his mom and brother are proud of him. With their help, Phoenix learns about Two Spirit/Niizh Manidoowag …