amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

4397 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Bee & Flea and the Compost Caper

by Anna Humphrey, illustrated by Mike Deas
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 3 to 12
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, recycling & green living, insects, spiders, etc., humorous stories

Unlikely bug buddies bring the science of compost heaps to life

Bee is spending another beautiful, boring day pollinating flowers in the backyard when a visitor named Flea gallops onto the scene on a dog’s back. Flea is the one and only agent of the Fenced-in-Area Law Enforcement Agency (the F.L.E.A. for short) and she’s heard about trouble in t …

rated!
rated!

Sulfur Heart

by Brooke Carter
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: crime, contemporary, mysteries & detective stories, violence

Will’s father was just found dead in a pile of sulfur.

He was a retired cop who'd been working as a night security guard at the SulCorp sulfur mill. Now, to determine if his death was a tragic accident or something more sinister, Will must return to the place he swore he'd never set foot in again. Hope is a little town struggling in the shadow of …

rated!
rated!

You Know, Sex

Bodies, Gender, Puberty, and Other Things

by Cory Silverberg & Fiona Smyth
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: adolescence, social topics, homosexuality

A completely new approach to learning about puberty, sex, and gender for kids 10+. Here is the much-anticipated third book in the trilogy that started with the award-wining What Makes a Baby and Sex Is a Funny Word

In a bright graphic format featuring four dynamic middle schoolers, You Know, Sex grounds sex education in social justice, covering not …

rated!
rated!

The Amajurjuk

by Levi Illuitok, illustrated by Ben Shannon
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: native american, polar regions, monsters

In this faithful retelling of a traditional story from the Kugaaruk region, told by Elder Levi Illuitok, a father must save his infant child from an amajurjuk, an ogress known to steal children. When the ogress takes advantage of the child’s mother being blind to trick her into giving away her child, the child’s father embarks on a quest to sav …

rated!
rated!

Arlo & Pips #3: New Kids in the Flock

illustrated by Elise Gravel
edition: Paperback
  • age: 6 to 10
  • Grade: 1 to 5
tagged: chapter books, action & adventure, humorous

In the grand finale of Elise Gravel's graphic chapter book series that Kirkus called "a charming treasure," Arlo the crow is going to be a dad! The third book in this quirky series from acclaimed author Elise Gravel is perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Castronauts.

Parenting is tough—even for a genius like Arlo—but luckily he isn’t alo …

rated!
rated!

These Are Not the Words

by Amanda West Lewis
edition: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: drugs, alcohol, substance abuse, music, 20th century

New York City in the 1960s is the humming backdrop for this poignant, gritty story about a girl who sees her parents as flawed human beings for the first time, and finds the courage to make a fresh start.

Missy’s mother has gone back to school to pursue her dream of becoming an artist. Missy’s father works in advertising and takes Missy on secre …

rated!
rated!

Last Week

by Bill Richardson, illustrated by Emilie Leduc
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: death & dying, diseases, illnesses & injuries, emotions & feelings

A child cherishes every second of their grandmother's last week of life in this sensitive portrayal of medical assistance in dying (MAiD).

“In this last week, there are seven days.” That's one hundred and sixty-eight hours. Or ten thousand and eighty minutes. Or six hundred four thousand and eight hundred seconds. A child counts every second bec …

Show editions