amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

5166 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Big Sting

by Rachelle Delaney
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, multigenerational, insects, spiders, etc.

A visit to Leo's grandfather's farm turns upside down when his grandmother's bee hives are stolen. A light-hearted and funny middle-grade novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Eleven-year-old Leo is an "armchair adventurer." This, according to Dad, means he'd choose adventures in books or video games over real-life experiences. An …

rated!
rated!

The Girl Who Hated Books

25th Anniversary Edition

by Manjusha Pawagi, illustrated by Leanne Franson
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: books & libraries, imagination & play, girls & women

"There were books in dressers and drawers and desks, in closets and cupboards and chests. There were books on the sofa and books on the stairs," and Meena hates all of them, as does her cat Max, who is shakily balanced on a giant stack. As Meena tries to rescue Max, the books come crashing down, freeing a wonderland of characters and animals who ta …

rated!
rated!

Sprout Branches Out

illustrated by Jessika von Innerebner
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged:

Discover the unbe-leaf-ably adorable story of a young plant with mulch to learn in this feel-good tale perfect for fans of The Bad Seed and Grumpy Monkey.
Sprout the plant lives on a small porch, in a little town. She’s only been able to grow two leaves and knows exactly why. Home is just not enough for her – she needs to venture out to the wi …

rated!
rated!

Best-Loved Bible Stories

edited by Cottage Door Press, illustrated by Tommy Doyle
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 6
  • Grade: p to 1
tagged: early readers

Interactive lift-a-flaps introduce favorite Bible Stories to toddlers and preschoolers in this beautiful children's board book. Boys and girls will love listening to the simple stories and helping their parents by lifting the chunky flaps. Engaging storytelling and questions are perfect for curious little kids to learn more about God. Includes Noah …

rated!
rated!

When Sally Met Harry

by Paulette Bourgeois, illustrated by Brooke Kerrigan
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: new baby, dogs

Goldendoodle meets baby in this fun story about adapting to a new sibling!

 

There’s a new baby joining the household, and Sally the goldendoodle doesn’t know what to think!

“Everything will change,” warn her friends at the dog park.

Sure enough, once baby Harry arrives, Sally feels neglected. Everybody is focused on the new baby and nobody has …

rated!
rated!

Brady Brady and the Super Skater

by Mary Shaw, illustrated by Chuck Temple
edition: Paperback
  • age: 3 to 8
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: hockey, values & virtues, friendship

The Icehogs have a new player — and she’s a super skater!

 

Brady hasn’t seen anyone skate faster than Caroline. But when it comes time to putting the puck in the net, she can’t quite connect.

Brady soon realizes it’s because she can’t see properly, but like many kids, Caroline doesn’t want to wear her glasses. A little understanding and …

rated!
rated!

Pivik Learns from Takannaaluk

Inuktitut Edition

by Paninnguaq Lind Jensen, illustrated by Hannah Barrett
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 7 to 9
  • Grade: 3
tagged: native canadian, siblings, polar regions, native american

In this story from West Greenland, one young girl tries to teach her mischievous little sister a lesson by telling her the Inuit traditional story of Takannaaluk.

Pivik is the laziest little sister! She is always complaining about helping Anaana and stealing the best food for herself. Fed up, her big sister, Ukaleq, seizes the chance to teach Pivik …

rated!
rated!

My Dear Nuakuluapik

English Edition

by Irene Jonas, illustrated by Lenny Lishchenko
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback
  • age: 5 to 7
  • Grade: 1
tagged: native canadian, death & dying, polar regions, multigenerational

A woman fondly reflects on her childhood with her Nuakuluapik.

She remembers all the things they used to do together and how kind her Nuakuluapik always was. This heartfelt story illuminates the strength of intergenerational relationships and the ways we hold onto loved ones even after they are gone.

rated!
rated!

First Valentine

by Kallie George, illustrated by Joelle Murray
edition: Paperback
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: valentine's day, new experience

A charming, relatable rhyming read-aloud just-right for Valentine's Day, about first experiences!

 

Little friend.

First valentine.

A heart will be

the best design…

Little friend is so excited to make his first valentine—in the shape of a heat! But learning how to cut shapes is a lot harder than you think, and no matter how much he tries, little frie …

rated!
rated!

Even Superheroes Get Scared

by Shelly Becker, illustrated by Eda Kaban
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to 1
tagged: emotions & feelings, superheroes, stories in verse

When Superheroes feel worried or scared,
When they fret, when they sweat, when they feel unprepared . . .
They could run off screeching, they could but they don’t.
Because real superheroes just wouldn’t, they won’t.
 
Even superheroes get scared sometimes. When that happens, do they run and hide? NO! They acknowledge the feeling, then choose …