amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

214 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition

The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos

by Judy Batalion
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: holocaust, historical, judaism

This young readers’ edition is the remarkable untold story of the young Jewish women who became resistance fighters against the Nazis during World War II. It has already been optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture.

As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women and teenage girls across Poland began transforming …

rated!
rated!

Dusty Dreams and Troubled Waters

A Story of HMCS Sackville and the Battle of the Atlantic

by Brian Bowman, illustrated by Richard Rudnicki & Susan Tooke
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: historical, action & adventure

A middle-grade graphic novel exploring the Battle of the Atlantic from a young prairie boy's perspective.

They said I was a sailor, now. But this was my first time on the ocean. And I was going to war...

By 1942 most of Europe was under the heel of the Nazis. Only the United Kingdom remained free to oppose them. Knowing Britain needed supplies from …

rated!
rated!

The Good Fight

by Ted Staunton, illustrated by Josh Rosen
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 18
  • Grade: 4 to 12
tagged: historical, prejudice & racism, post-confederation (1867-)

 

A fast-paced story set amidst Toronto's turbulent summer of 1933, this graphic novel sheds light on prejudice and social injustice.

 

It’s Toronto in the 1930s. The city is small, often xenophobic, and the summer is stiflingly hot. Everyone flocks to the lakeshore. In one area of the beach, a neighbourhood protective association has formed to keep …

rated!
rated!

The Coming Storm

by Regina M. Hansen
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: adaptations, canada, historical

Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, “eerie…atmospheric” (Publishers Weekly) fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known t …

rated!
rated!

Southern Sun, Northern Star

by Joanna Hathaway
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: historical

Battles, revolution, and romance collide inSouthern Sun, Northern Star, the conclusion to Joanna Hathaway's stunning, World Wars-inspired fantasy series.
Reeling from the tragedy that beset her family, Princess Aurelia has joined the resistance in Havenspur, spying on the Northern leaders who were once her allies and determined to stop her uncle …

rated!
rated!

The Light of Days Young Readers' Edition

The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos

by Judy Batalion
edition: eBook
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: holocaust, historical, judaism, europe, women

This young readers’ edition tells the remarkable story, largely forgotten until now, of the young Jewish women who became resistance fighters against the Nazis during World War II. It has already been optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture.

As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women and teenage girls across …

rated!
rated!

Storm from the East

by Joanna Hathaway
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: historical

Part war drama, part romance,Storm from the East is the second epic fantasy adventure in Joanna Hathaway’s Glass Alliance series.
War has begun in the South. The days of soldier Athan and Princess Aurelia’s secret summer romance feel like a long-distant memory.
On the frontlines of combat, Athan proves a star fighter pilot as he struggles to j …

rated!
rated!

Songs from the Deep

by Kelly Powell
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: mermaids, historical, mysteries & detective stories

A girl searches for a killer on an island where deadly sirens lurk just beneath the waves in this “twisty, atmospheric story that grips readers like a siren song” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

The sea holds many secrets.
Moira Alexander has always been fascinated by the deadly sirens who lurk along the shores of her island town. Even tho …

rated!
rated!

Maurice and His Dictionary

A True Story

by Cary Fagan, illustrated by Enzo Lord Mariano
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: historical, school & education, holocaust

This is the story of one refugee family’s harrowing journey, based on author Cary Fagan’s own family history. The graphic novel follows a young Jewish boy, Maurice, and his family as they flee their home in Belgium during the Second World War. They travel by train to Paris, through Spain to Portugal, and finally across the ocean to Jamaica, wh …

Show editions