amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

164 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Bones of Ruin

by Sarah Raughley
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: historical, apocalyptic & post-apocalyptic

An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this “bloodily spectacular” (Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights) historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.

As an African …

rated!
rated!

Ahiahia the Orphan

by Levi Illuitok, illustrated by Nate Wells
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: fairy tales, folklore, legends & mythology, action & adventure, historical, diversity & multicultural

After his parents are brutally murdered, Ahiahia is raised by his grandmother in a camp surrounded by enemies. His grandmother knows that eventually the camp will turn on Ahiahia, just as it did his parents, so she chants a protection chant over the clothing that she lovingly sews for him, over the amulet and necklace she gives him, even over the d …

rated!
rated!

The Coming Storm

by Regina M. Hansen
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: adaptations, canada, historical

Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, “eerie…atmospheric” (Publishers Weekly) fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known t …

rated!
rated!

The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition

The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos

by Judy Batalion
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: holocaust, historical, judaism, europe, women

This young readers’ edition of the blockbuster New York Times bestseller is the remarkable untold story of the young Jewish women who became resistance fighters against the Nazis during World War II. It has already been optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture.

As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women and te …

rated!
rated!

The Call of the Rift: Crest

by Jae Waller, read by Sera-Lys McArthur
edition: Audiobook
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 13 to 17
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: epic, historical

 

Step through the portal into a world ravaged by chaotic spirits and corrupted magic in the third book of The Call of the Rift high fantasy series.

Kateiko Rin lives a quiet life with her parents and her people in the coastal rainforest. Everything changes when her estranged uncle washes up on their shores, harried and half-dead, trailed by two blue …

rated!
rated!

Maud and Me

by Marianne Jones
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 16
  • Grade: 9 to 11
tagged: historical, women

"Maud and Me" is a novel set in the early 1980's in Marathon, a small mining town in Northwestern Ontario. Nicole LeClair, a middle-aged minister's wife has a secret: she receives visits from Lucy Maud Montgomery, also a minister's wife and famed author of Anne of Green Gables. Since Maud has been dead for four decades, Nicole is unsure if this app …

Show editions