amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

490 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition

The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos

by Judy Batalion
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: holocaust, historical, judaism

This young readers’ edition is the remarkable untold story of the young Jewish women who became resistance fighters against the Nazis during World War II. It has already been optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture.

As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women and teenage girls across Poland began transforming …

rated!
rated!

The Underground Railroad

Next Stop, Toronto!

by Adrienne Shadd; Afua Cooper & Karolyn Smardz Frost
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback Paperback
  • age: 12 to 15
  • Grade: 7 to 10
tagged: african american, canada

Stories of the hopeful, brave people who fled slavery and made Toronto their home.

“An engaging and highly readable account of the lives of Black people in Toronto in the 1800s.” — Lawrence Hill, bestselling author of The Illegal

The Underground Railroad: Next Stop, Toronto! is a richly illustrated book that explores Toronto’s role as a desti …

rated!
rated!

The Red Palace

by June Hur
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: mysteries & detective stories

June Hur, critically acclaimed author ofThe Silence of Bones andThe Forest of Stolen Girls, returns withThe Red Palace—a third evocative, atmospheric historical mystery perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco.
To enter the palace means to walk a path stained in blood...
Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to i …

rated!
rated!

Tess of the Road

by Rachel Hartman
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: medieval

From award-winning Rachel Hartman, Tess of the Road is a tour de force and an exquisite feminist fantasy.

In the medieval kingdom of Goredd, women are expected to be ladies, men are their protectors and dragons get to be whomever they want. Tess, stubbornly, is a troublemaker. You can't make a scene at your sister's wedding and break a relative's no …

rated!
rated!

Righting Canada's Wrongs: Italian Canadian Internment in the Second World War

by Pamela Hickman & Jean Smith Cavalluzzo
edition: Hardcover
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: prejudice & racism, military & wars, canada, politics & government, general (see also headings under family)

Italians came to Canada to seek a better life. From the 1870s to the 1920s they arrived in large numbers and found work mainly in mining, railway building, forestry, construction and farming. As time passed, many used their skills to set up successful small businesses, often in Little Italy districts in cities like Montreal, Toronto, Hamilton and W …

rated!
rated!

Wanting Mor

by Rukhsana Khan, read by Rogin Rashidan
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: middle east, girls & women, stepfamilies

Winner of the Middle East Book Award, Youth Fiction category

Jameela lives with her mother and father in Afghanistan. Despite the fact that there is no school in their poor, war-torn village, and Jameela lives with a birth defect that has left her with a cleft lip, she feels relatively secure, sustained by her faith and the strength of her beloved m …

rated!
rated!

Crown of Feathers Trilogy

Crown of Feathers; Heart of Flames; Wings of Shadow

by Nicki Pau Preto
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: epic, siblings

A beautifully told story about justice, sisterhood, and warrior women.” —Shea Ernshaw, New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep
The “absolutely unforgettable” (Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Crown of Feathers fantasy trilogy about a teen girl who disguises herself as a boy to join a group of elite warr …

rated!
rated!

Tahira in Bloom

A Novel

by Farah Heron
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: coming of age, girls & women

Life is full of surprises in a winning novel about a girl dreaming big during one unexpected small-town summer.

When seventeen-year-old aspiring designer Tahira Janmohammad’s coveted fashion internship falls through, her parents have a Plan B. Tahira will work in her aunt’s boutique in the small town of Bakewell, the flower capital of Ontario. I …

Show editions