amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

1081 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Project Bollywood

by Mahtab Narsimhan
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 8
tagged: film, friendship, diversity & multicultural

Salman loves Hindi movies and wants to produce a short Bollywood film for his school project.

He gathers his friends when he's ready with the script, which is a mashup of all the movies he has ever seen. As director, Salman insists everyone follows the script exactly. But it's full of stereotypes and the cast and crew are not shy about expressing th …

rated!
rated!

Camp Average: Away Games

by Craig Battle
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 2 to 7
tagged: camping & outdoor activities, friendship, humorous stories, hockey

In the final book of this hit summer reading series for ages 8 to 12, this summer is definitely not average. This three-book series is great for sports fans and reluctant readers, with Camp Average shortlisted for provincial children's choice awards in Manitoba, Ontario, and Saskatchewan.

It’s another summer at Camp Avalon—also known as Camp Ave …

rated!
rated!

Terrible Feeling, The

by Lisa Lucas, illustrated by Laurie Stein
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: visionary & metaphysical, friendship
rated!
rated!

HE/SHE

by Lisa Lucas, illustrated by Laurie Stein
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: visionary & metaphysical, friendship
rated!
rated!

Locked Gate, The

by Lisa Lucas, illustrated by Laurie Stein
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: visionary & metaphysical, friendship

"Whether you suffer an unjust system...whether you have been in a prison of another's making or in a cage of your own construction...there is...the dance without words before the twice-locked gates." --Before The Twice-Locked Gates, by Mark Nepo
When Laurie and Lisa read this, they thought about how humans have been building walls to keep others o …

rated!
rated!

Super Detectives! (Simon and Chester Book #1)

by Cale Atkinson
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: mystery & detective, friendship, humorous stories

A ghost and a kid team up to solve mysteries and kick butt! A hilarious new graphic novel series for fans of Bad Guys and Dog Man.

Welcome to the world of Simon and Chester, ghost and boy duo extraordinaire.
They like to kick butt and take names.
They don't like chores.
They are best friends.
And they are about to solve the MYSTERY OF A LIFETIME …

rated!
rated!

Forever Birchwood

A Novel

by Danielle Daniel
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: friendship, native canadian

The middle-grade debut of star picture-book author and illustrator Danielle Daniel

Adventurous, trail-blazing Wolf lives in a northern mining town and spends her days exploring the mountains and wilderness with her three best friends Penny, Ann and Brandi. The girls’ secret refuge is their tree-house hideaway, Birchwood, Wolf’s favourite place o …

rated!
rated!

Arlo et Pips : No 2 - La clique des corbeaux

illustrated by Elise Gravel
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 10
  • Grade: 1 to 5
tagged: birds, friendship, humorous

 

See below for English description.

Arlo découvre un jour qu’il a envie de la compagnie d’autres corbeaux. Il décide alors de faire de nouvelles rencontres avec l’aide de Pips, et fait la connaissance de Marla, un corbeau femelle très intelligent, peut-être même plus que lui! Est-ce que Marla parviendra à enseigner une chose ou deux à n …

rated!
rated!

Beatrice and Croc Harry

A Novel

by Lawrence Hill
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 9 to 13
  • Grade: 4 to 8
tagged: friendship

One of Canada’s most celebrated author’s debut novel for young readers

Beatrice, a young girl of uncertain age, wakes up all alone in a tree house in the forest. How did she arrive in this cozy dwelling, stocked carefully with bookshelves and oatmeal accoutrements? And who has been leaving a trail of clues, composed in delicate purple handwritin …

Show editions