amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

1193 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

PAWS: Mindy Makes Some Space

by Nathan Fairbairn, illustrated by Michele Assarasakorn
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: humorous, friendship, dogs

Are you a fan of Raina Telgemeier or Shannon Hale? Then you won’t want to miss the second book in this graphic novel series that’s the Baby-Sitters Club for pets! Your favorite dog-walkers are back with even more cute animals—and even more friendship and family drama—in this funny and heartwarming story perfect for fans of Real Friends, Rol …

rated!
rated!

Super Family! (Simon and Chester Book #3)

by Cale Atkinson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: humorous, humorous stories, friendship

Join Simon and Chester in their third adventure as they navigate family dynamics and a very important ghost conference! A hilarious new graphic novel series for fans of The Bad Guys and Dog Man.

Welcome to the world of Simon and Chester, ghost and boy duo extraordinaire.
 
Chester lives with his Grandma, his cat Mr. Pickles and Simon the ghost. Lat …

rated!
rated!

Les super six du hockey 5 : Pris au jeu

illustrated by Kevin Sylvester
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: friendship, hockey, humorous stories

 

See below for English description.

Les super six du hockey ont été aspirés dans une réalité virtuelle! Un programme informatique leur envoie des méchants sans vergogne afin d’apprendre les meilleures astuces du groupe pour arrêter le mal dans son sillage. C’est alors que les super six et tous les méchants sont expulsés du jeu et projet …

rated!
rated!

The Undercover Book List

by Colleen Nelson
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: friendship, self-esteem & self-reliance, school & education, books & libraries

Governor General’s Award Finalist Colleen Nelson’s tale of identity, unlikely friends, and a secret book club, now available in a new paperback format.

Between her father’s posting overseas and her best friend Sienna’s move to the other side of the country, seventh grade is looking lonely for Jane MacDonald. But Sienna has left her with one …

rated!
rated!

Weird Rules to Follow

by Kim Spencer
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: friendship, adolescence, prejudice & racism, multigenerational, native canadian

Mia knows her family is very different than her best friend's.

In the 1980s, the coastal fishing town of Prince Rupert is booming. There is plenty of sockeye salmon in the nearby ocean, which means the fishermen are happy and there is plenty of work at the cannery. Eleven-year-old Mia and her best friend, Lara, have known each other since kindergart …

rated!
rated!

A Knotty Problem

by David Cole, illustrated by Shannon O'Toole
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 6
tagged: mathematics, soccer, friendship, emotions & feelings

Tensions Rise Between the Math Kids

When Stephanie finds out her soccer team has a tournament on the same day as the district math competition, an upset Justin offers her a choice: choose Math Kids or leave the club. Dismayed by his attitude, Stephanie quits and Catherine goes with her. With their club in shambles, the future of their friendships is …

rated!
rated!

Green Mountain Academy

by Frances Greenslade
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: survival stories, death & dying, friendship

A daring rescue in the middle of a snowstorm in this compelling Red Fox Road companion survival story for ages 10 to 14, for fans of Hatchet and The Skeleton Tree.

After a family trip turned disastrous when their truck broke down in the middle of an old logging road in Oregon, Francie is now back in British Columbia. People try to make things as "no …

rated!
rated!

Behind the Label

Gloria & Willa

by Lorna Schultz Nicholson
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: friendship

Gloria, an impulsive, naïve and likeable teen with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD), tries to keep her family together while their mother’s addictions threaten a move to foster care. Willa, an older teen with a learning disability (LD), wants to play in a rock band where her gifts truly shine, but her mother’s controlling and perfectioni …

Show editions