amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

1514 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Even Superheroes Get Scared

by Shelly Becker, illustrated by Eda Kaban
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to 1
tagged: emotions & feelings, superheroes, stories in verse

When Superheroes feel worried or scared,
When they fret, when they sweat, when they feel unprepared . . .
They could run off screeching, they could but they don’t.
Because real superheroes just wouldn’t, they won’t.
 
Even superheroes get scared sometimes. When that happens, do they run and hide? NO! They acknowledge the feeling, then choose …

rated!
rated!

PAWS: Mindy Makes Some Space

by Nathan Fairbairn, illustrated by Michele Assarasakorn
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: humorous, friendship, dogs

Are you a fan of Raina Telgemeier or Shannon Hale? Then you won’t want to miss the second book in this graphic novel series that’s the Baby-Sitters Club for pets! Your favorite dog-walkers are back with even more cute animals—and even more friendship and family drama—in this funny and heartwarming story perfect for fans of Real Friends, Rol …

rated!
rated!

Cocoa Magic

by Sandra Bradley, illustrated by Gabrielle Grimard
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: k to 2
tagged: cooking & food, multigenerational, emotions & feelings, values & virtues, school & education

In a cozy 1920s chocolate shop, the special ingredients in each perfect treat are empathy, generosity, and thoughtful acts of kindness.

Eight-year-old Daniel cherishes the hour he spends every morning helping his Great-Uncle Lewis in his chocolate shop. They mix, temper, pour, and mold. “It’s magic, my boy,” Uncle Lewis says. And Daniel agrees …

rated!
rated!

Even Superheroes Have Bad Days

by Shelly Becker, illustrated by Eda Kaban
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: superheroes, emotions & feelings

When Superheroes feel worried or scared,
When they fret, when they sweat, when they feel unprepared . . .
They could run off screeching, they could but they don’t.
Because real superheroes just wouldn’t, they won’t.
 
Even superheroes get scared sometimes. When that happens, do they run and hide? NO! They acknowledge the feeling, then choose …

rated!
rated!

Super Family! (Simon and Chester Book #3)

by Cale Atkinson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: humorous, humorous stories, friendship

Join Simon and Chester in their third adventure as they navigate family dynamics and a very important ghost conference! A hilarious new graphic novel series for fans of The Bad Guys and Dog Man.

Welcome to the world of Simon and Chester, ghost and boy duo extraordinaire.
 
Chester lives with his Grandma, his cat Mr. Pickles and Simon the ghost. Lat …

rated!
rated!

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel

by Christina Soontornvat, illustrated by Joanna Cacao
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: cheerleading, prejudice & racism

From two-time Newbery Honoree and Kirkus Prize winner Christina Soontornvat, and stellar new talent, Joanna Cacao, comes a high stakes, highly relatable graphic novel about courage and competition, friendship and belonging, and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. Perfect for fans of New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

 

Trying out for m …

rated!
rated!

Histoires de guerre

by Gordon Korman
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: multigenerational, emotions & feelings, military & wars

 

See below for English description.

Il y a deux choses que Trevor aime plus que tout : jouer à des jeux vidéo de guerre et son arrière-grand-père Jacob, un véritable héros de guerre. Plusieurs décennies sont passées, et Jacob veut remarcher sur les traces qu’il a suivies pendant la guerre. Mais une fois leur périple commencé, Trevor déc …

rated!
rated!

La souris qui portait une maison sur son dos

by Jonathan Stutzman, illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: mice, hamsters, guinea pigs, etc., values & virtues, emotions & feelings

 

See below for English description.

Vincent est une souris qui porte sa maison sur son dos. Un jour, il repère une colline ordinaire avec un chemin fréquenté. Il décide donc de poser sa maison et de s’y installer. Très rapidement, les passants s’arrêtent, et Vincent leur offre un endroit où se reposer, car après tout, la maison de Vincen …

rated!
rated!

My Fade Is Fresh

by Shauntay Grant, illustrated by Kitt Thomas
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: african american, self-esteem & self-reliance, girls & women

A little girl learns the importance of speaking up for what she wants while at the barbershop and ends up rocking the fabulous hair style she chooses in this fun and empowering picture book.

When a little girl walks into her local barbershop, she knows she wants the flyest, freshest fade on the block! But there are so many beautiful hairstyles to c …

Show editions