amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

340 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

When Sally Met Harry

by Paulette Bourgeois, illustrated by Brooke Kerrigan
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: new baby, dogs

Goldendoodle meets baby in this fun story about adapting to a new sibling!

 

There’s a new baby joining the household, and Sally the goldendoodle doesn’t know what to think!

“Everything will change,” warn her friends at the dog park.

Sure enough, once baby Harry arrives, Sally feels neglected. Everybody is focused on the new baby and nobody has …

rated!
rated!

Mad About Meatloaf (Weenie Featuring Frank and Beans Book #1)

by Maureen Fergus, illustrated by Alexandra Bye
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: humorous, dogs, humorous stories

Meet Weenie, a meatloaf-obsessed wiener dog, and his best friends Frank and Beans in this hilarious early graphic novel for fans of Narwhal and Jelly and The Bad Guys.

Weenie loves his human, Bob. He loves his guinea pig friend, Beans, and his cat friend, Frank. He loves naps, adventures and sharing. In fact, Weenie loves pretty much everything (exc …

rated!
rated!

PAWS: Mindy Makes Some Space

by Nathan Fairbairn, illustrated by Michele Assarasakorn
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: humorous, friendship, dogs

Are you a fan of Raina Telgemeier or Shannon Hale? Then you won’t want to miss the second book in this graphic novel series that’s the Baby-Sitters Club for pets! Your favorite dog-walkers are back with even more cute animals—and even more friendship and family drama—in this funny and heartwarming story perfect for fans of Real Friends, Rol …

rated!
rated!

Ballewiena

by Rebecca Bender
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 4 to 7
  • Grade: k to 2
tagged: dance, humorous stories, dogs, self-esteem & self-reliance

 

The award-winning creator of the Giraffe and Bird books introduces Dotty the dancing dachshund, celebrating the gifts of those who struggle to "sit" and "stay"

Dotty the dachshund knows she was born to dance ballet. When told to sit, she does a plié. Asked to stay, she does an assemblé. Fed up with Dotty’s lack of discipline, Mrs. Austere sends …

rated!
rated!

Buddy

A Farm in the Forest Story

by Jena Wagmann, illustrated by Alana Hytrle
edition: Paperback
  • age: 4 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: dogs, physical & emotional abuse, beginner

Once there was a little dog. His teeth stuck out on one side of his mouth, and his little black nose did not sit in the middle of his face. Some might say he was not very handsome. And one day, he was left alone in the forest.

Based on the real-life adventures of a funny-looking little dog, this charming story of acceptance and found family will cap …

rated!
rated!

Mr. Beagle Climbs Signal Hill

by Lori Doody
edition: Paperback
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: dogs

Someone is snatching snacks on Signal Hill! Can Mr. Beagle suss out who? While taking a hike up Signal Hill, Mr. Beagle soon realizes that people's picnics are being plundered! Who could the culprit be? With his nose for clues and a handy pair of binoculars, he solves the puzzle, and finds a way to encourage community and collaboration. Lori Doody' …

rated!
rated!

Hush, Puppy

Charlie's Rules #3

by Sigmund Brouwer, illustrated by Sabrina Gendron
edition: Paperback
  • age: 6 to 8
  • Grade: 1 to 3
tagged: dogs, friendship, emotions & feelings, farm & ranch life, cats

Eleven-year-old Charlie Dembinski lives by the rules he writes down in his notebook.

He knows that animals behave in predictable ways and it's easy for him to understand them. What Charlie doesn’t understand is why people aren’t the same way. Faced with a swarm of bees attached to a car, a cat with an unusual lump, a large dog who eats jewelry, …

rated!
rated!

Police Pup Hershey

Ready to Lend a Paw

by Val Hoglund, illustrated by Liv Vors
edition: Paperback
  • age: 7 to 10
  • Grade: 2 to 5
tagged: dogs

When kids need a hand, offer them a paw first!

This is the coming-of-age story of Hershey, a misfit border collie, who must face his own fears and setbacks as he doggedly pursues his dream of helping kids.

Does he have what it takes to be a police therapy dog?
Will he make it through obedience school?
Will Inspector Dan forgive his foibles?
Will he …

Show editions