amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

519 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Bones of Ruin

by Sarah Raughley
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover Audiobook
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: historical, apocalyptic & post-apocalyptic

An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this “bloodily spectacular” (Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights) historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.

As an African …

rated!
rated!

Seekers of the Fox

Thieves of Shadow, Book Two

by Kevin Sands
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: fantasy & magic, law & crime

A dying friend, a terrible bargain, an underwater quest, and dangerous magic . . . this thrilling adventure picks up right where Children of the Fox leaves off. Fans of twisty, clever stories like The False Prince and Ocean's Eleven will love this newest series from Kevin Sands, author of the bestselling Blackthorn Key.

Rule number one: Never mess …

rated!
rated!

Green Mountain Academy

by Frances Greenslade
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: survival stories, death & dying, friendship

A daring rescue in the middle of a snowstorm in this compelling Red Fox Road companion survival story for ages 10 to 14, for fans of Hatchet and The Skeleton Tree.

After a family trip turned disastrous when their truck broke down in the middle of an old logging road in Oregon, Francie is now back in British Columbia. People try to make things as "no …

rated!
rated!

Until We Break

by Matthew Dawkins
edition: Paperback
  • age: 14 to 15
  • Grade: 9 to 10
tagged: african american

Dance like everyone's watching. Because they are.
As the only Black student at her ballet academy, Naomi Morgan knows her feelings of isolation and artistic sacrifice are the price she has to pay in order to win the Youth American Grand Prix, the country’s most prestigious dance competition. Winning means access to a spot in a top ballet school …

rated!
rated!

Running Through It

by Lorie Scarfarotti
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: death & dying

p style="margin-bottom:10.0pt;line-height:115%;font-size:12.0pt;font-family:"Times New Roman",serif;">Over the course of a week, thirteen-year-old Track & Field runner, Josie Tomaselli, confronts multiple challenges with humour, confusion, fear, “lady balls,” and the inspiration of her pre-race music playlist.  As the big race approaches, she …

rated!
rated!

Ghostlight

by Kenneth Oppel
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: ghost stories, death & dying

Gabe’s summer job scaring tourists with ghost stories turns terrifyingly real when he accidentally summons the spirit of a dead girl—and must join forces with her to protect the world of the living.

The story of the tragic death of sixteen-year-old Rebecca Strand and her lighthouse keeper father is just an elaborate tale Gabe tells tourists for …

rated!
rated!

A Blanket of Butterflies

by Richard Van Camp, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson; Donovan Yaciuk & Nickolej Villiger
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, death & dying, war & military, diversity & multicultural

No one knows how a suit of samurai armour ended up in the Fort Smith museum. When a mysterious stranger turns up to claim it, Sonny, a young Tłı̨chǫ Dene boy, is eager to help.

Shinobu has travelled to Fort Smith, NWT, to reclaim his grandfather’s samurai sword and armour. But when he discovers that the sword was lost in a poker game, he must …

rated!
rated!

Righting Canada's Wrongs: The Sixties Scoop and the Stolen Lives of Indigenous Children

by Andrew Bomberry & Jane Hubbard
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: prejudice & racism, canada, aboriginal & indigenous, politics & government, general (see also headings under family)

This book for students examines a child welfare policy in Canada that began in 1951 in which Indigenous children were taken from their homes and put into the care of non-Indigenous families. These children grew up without their birth families, cultural roots and language. Many tried to run away and some died in the attempt. The taking of the childr …

rated!
rated!

My Uncle Is Coming Tomorrow

illustrated by Sebastián Santana Camargo, translated by Elisa Amado
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: death & dying, multigenerational, caribbean & latin america, violence

“A powerful work.”—School Library Journal (STARRED)

An Aldana Libros Book, Greystone Kids 

A powerful introduction to forced disappearances for readers 10 and up. 

By a closed door, a child waits for his uncle, who is coming to stay. As he waits, he imagines all the fun things they’ll do when he arrives: his uncle can teach him how to block a …

Show editions