amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

187 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Righting Canada’s Wrongs: Inuit Relocations

Resilience and Reconciliation

by Frank Tester & Krista Ulujuk Zawadski
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: prejudice & racism, canada, politics & government, aboriginal & indigenous, general (see also headings under family)

In a highly visible and appealing format for young readers, this book explores the forced Inuit relocations in the Canadian Arctic between the 1950s and 1990s. Government decisions were often based on misinformation and racist attitudes, and their ill-considered decisions changed Inuit lives forever. This book includes Inuit responses, resilience a …

rated!
rated!

Righting Canada's Wrongs: The Sixties Scoop and the Stolen Lives of Indigenous Children

by Andrew Bomberry & Jane Hubbard
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: prejudice & racism, canada, aboriginal & indigenous, politics & government, general (see also headings under family)

This book for students examines a child welfare policy in Canada that began in 1951 in which Indigenous children were taken from their homes and put into the care of non-Indigenous families. These children grew up without their birth families, cultural roots and language. Many tried to run away and some died in the attempt. The taking of the childr …

rated!
rated!

Creeboy

by Teresa Wouters
edition: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, general (see also headings under social themes), general (see also headings under family), canada, general (see also headings under social topics)

Set in the 2000s on the fictional reserve of Nune’chi’win, Alberta, 16-year-old Josh “Creeboy” navigates the world of Indigenous gang life. Josh’s family members are no strangers to gangs. His dad, the leader of one of the gangs on his reserve, is in jail, and his older brother Darion has taken his place. Josh is unsure whether gang life …

rated!
rated!

Righting Canada's Wrongs: Residential Schools

The Devastating Impact on Canada's Indigenous Peoples and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Findings and Calls for Action

by Melanie Florence
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Hardcover
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: prejudice & racism, politics & government, canada, aboriginal & indigenous, general (see also headings under family)

Canada’s residential school system for Indigenous children is now recognized as a grievous historic wrong committed against First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples. Through historical photographs, documents and first-person narratives from people who survived residential schools, this book offers an account of the injustice of this period in Cana …

rated!
rated!

Hunting by Stars

(A Marrow Thieves Novel)

by Cherie Dimaline
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: dystopian, prejudice & racism, aboriginal & indigenous

The thrilling follow-up to the bestselling, award-winning novel The Marrow Thieves, about a dystopian world where the Indigenous people of North America are being hunted for their bone marrow and ability to dream.

Years ago, when plagues and natural disasters killed millions of people, much of the world stopped dreaming. Without dreams, people are h …

rated!
rated!

The Great Bear

The Misewa Saga, Book Two

by David A. Robertson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: fantasy & magic, native american, orphans & foster homes

In this second book in the Narnia-inspired Indigenous middle-grade fantasy series, Eli and Morgan journey once more to Misewa, travelling back in time.

Back at home after their first adventure in the Barren Grounds, Eli and Morgan each struggle with personal issues: Eli is being bullied at school, and tries to hide it from Morgan, while Morgan has t …

rated!
rated!

He Who Dreams

by Melanie Florence
edition: Paperback
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: dance, friendship, prejudice & racism

Juggling soccer, school, friends and family leaves John with little time for anything else.

One day at the local community center, following the sound of drums, he stumbles into an Indigenous dance class. Before he knows what's happening, John finds himself stumbling through beginner classes with a bunch of little girls, skipping soccer practice and …

rated!
rated!

Walking in Two Worlds

by Wab Kinew
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, self-esteem & self-reliance

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

Bugz is caught between two worlds. In the real world, she's a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angs …

rated!
rated!

Four Faces of the Moon

by Amanda Strong, afterword by Dr. Sherry Farrell Racette
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, native american

On a journey to uncover her family’s story, Spotted Fawn travels through time and space to reclaim connection to ancestors, language, and the land in this essential graphic novel.  

In the dreamworld, she bears witness to a mountain of buffalo skulls, a ghostly monument to the slaughter of the buffalo—a key tactic to starve and contain the Indig …

Show editions