amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

219 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Everlasting Road

by Wab Kinew
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, self-esteem & self-reliance

The boundaries between the virtual and the real world become dangerously blurred for a young Indigenous girl in the follow-up to the YA fantasy debut Walking in Two Worlds from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

 Devastated by the loss of her beloved older brother to cancer, Bugz …

rated!
rated!

Braiding Sweetgrass for Young Adults

Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants

by Robin Wall Kimmerer & Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Nicole Neidhardt
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, botany, cultural heritage

Drawing from her experiences as an Indigenous scientist, botanist Robin Wall Kimmerer demonstrated how all living things—from strawberries and witch hazel to water lilies and lichen—provide us with gifts and lessons every day in her best-selling book Braiding Sweetgrass. Adapted for young adults by Monique Gray Smith, this new edition reinforce …

rated!
rated!

Her Courage Rises

50 Trailblazing Women of British Columbia and Yukon

by Haley Healey, illustrated by Kimiko Fraser
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: girls & women, canada

A beautifully illustrated collection of inspiring life stories of fifty extraordinary historical women from BC and Yukon.

This fascinating, informative, and charming book introduces young readers to a diverse group of women who changed the face of history in unexpected ways and defied the expectations and gender norms of their times. Through charmin …

rated!
rated!

Ancient Ghosts

Inuktitut Edition

by Edel Marit Gaino, illustrated by Toma Feizo Gas
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, ghost stories, short stories, polar regions

Grab your flashlight and dive into this chilling anthology of Northern ghost stories!

From zombies and cursed mirrors to sea monsters and ghost dogs, these stories by Sámi author Edel Marit Gaino are sure to get your skin crawling. Crack open this terrifying collection (if you dare!) and meet the scariest of supernatural creatures. With stories tha …

rated!
rated!

Walking in Two Worlds

by Wab Kinew
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural, self-esteem & self-reliance

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

In the real world, Bugz is a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angst and reserve life. But in the vi …

rated!
rated!

Child of Morning Star

Embers of an Ancient Dawn

by Antoine Mountain, foreword by Bonnie Devine
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, indigenous studies, native americans

Created for a Y/A audience of readers, Antoine Mountain follows up his previous memoir From Bear Rock Mountain with the book Child of Morning Star: Embers of an Ancient Dawn. The book is a poetic collection of stories that draws on his travels and knowledge as a Dene artist and a lifelong student of history. In it, Mountain weaves stories about peo …

rated!
rated!

Davidee Goes to the Arctic Winter Games

Inuktitut Edition

by Ryan Lahti, illustrated by Shannon Potratz
edition: Paperback
  • age: 11 to 13
  • Grade: 6 to 8
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, polar regions, hockey, new experience

Davidee has always loved hockey. Lately, though, all he wants to do is play video games. He dreams of playing in the NHL, but how does a kid from Naujaat make the big league?

When Davidee tries out for the Arctic Winter Games and unexpectedly makes the team, he can’t believe his luck. But Davidee is only the backup goalie, and Team Nunavut can’t …

Show editions