amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

5465 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Searching Beyond the Stars

Seven Women in Science Take On Space's Biggest Questions

by Nicole Mortillaro, illustrated by Amanda Key
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: aeronautics, astronautics & space science, women, science & technology

Are we alone in the cosmos? Could we one day live on a different planet? How is life formed? What other secrets does the universe hold? 

Through profiles of seven remarkable women scientists and their achievements in their respective fields, Searching Beyond the Stars takes us deep into space, looking at once to the distant past and the distant futu …

rated!
rated!

Knight of the Rails

by Christine Welldon
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged:

Thirteen-year-old Billy Knight leaves home to 'ride the rails' across Canada during the 1930s. His encounters with a wide cast of characters — including fellow drifters and drifters and grifters, kid gangs, crooks, idealists, ragtag philosophers, and railroad bulls, as well as everyday folk simply trying to get by — provide much more than he ba …

rated!
rated!

Her Courage Rises

50 Trailblazing Women of British Columbia and Yukon

by Haley Healey, illustrated by Kimiko Fraser
edition: eBook
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: girls & women, canada

A beautifully illustrated collection of inspiring life stories of fifty extraordinary historical women from BC and Yukon.

This fascinating, informative, and charming book introduces young readers to a diverse group of women who changed the face of history in unexpected ways and defied the expectations and gender norms of their times. Through charmin …

rated!
rated!

My First Concepts: Colors, Shapes, Numbers & Opposites

4 Board Books Included

text by Corinne Delporte & Carine Laforest, illustrated by Annie Sechao
  • age: 3 to 18
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: size & shape, colors, opposites, counting & numbers, words

Early learning for toddlers!

These fun board books introduce toddlers to four essential concepts: numbers, shapes, colors, and opposites.

  • Great teaching tool for parents, caregivers, and teachers
  • Bright illustrations reinforce recognition and memory recall
  • Simple text encourages word association and builds vocabulary
  • Learning key concepts lays …
rated!
rated!

The Bones of Ruin

by Sarah Raughley
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover Audiobook
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: historical, apocalyptic & post-apocalyptic

An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this “bloodily spectacular” (Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights) historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.

As an African …

rated!
rated!

Seekers of the Fox

Thieves of Shadow, Book Two

by Kevin Sands
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: fantasy & magic, law & crime

A dying friend, a terrible bargain, an underwater quest, and dangerous magic . . . this thrilling adventure picks up right where Children of the Fox leaves off. Fans of twisty, clever stories like The False Prince and Ocean's Eleven will love this newest series from Kevin Sands, author of the bestselling Blackthorn Key.

Rule number one: Never mess …

rated!
rated!

Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen: The Dead Man in the Garden

by Marthe Jocelyn, illustrated by Isabelle Follath
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, european, law & crime

For young detective Aggie Morton and her friend Hector, a spa stay becomes a lot more thrilling when TWO dead bodies are found in this third book in the Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen series, inspired by the life of Agatha Christie as a child and her most popular creation, Hercule Poirot. For fans of Enola Holmes.

Aspiring writer Aggie Morton is ready …

rated!
rated!

Love from Mecca to Medina

by S. K. Ali
edition: Paperback
also available: Audiobook eBook
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: contemporary, general (see also headings under social themes), prejudice & racism

On the trip of a lifetime, Adam and Zayneb must find their way back to each other in this surprising and romantic sequel to the “bighearted, wildly charming” (Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author) Love from A to Z.

Adam and Zayneb. Perfectly matched. Painfully apart.
Adam is in Doha, Qatar, making a map of the Hijra, a historic …

rated!
rated!

Heroines, Rescuers, Rabbis, Spies

Unsung Women of the Holocaust

by Sarah Silberstein Swartz
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: women, girls & women, holocaust

Discover nine ordinary women who took extraordinary measures to save lives during the Holocaust, resisting terror and torture while undercover or in hiding, in concentration camps, in forests, and in exile.

With compassion and admiration, author Sarah Silberstein Swartz paints portraits of women who stood up for themselves and others in dangerous ti …

Show editions