amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

8943 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

A Home Away from Home

True Stories of Wild Animal Sanctuaries

by Nicholas Read
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: animal welfare, apes, monkeys, etc., hippos & rhinos

An informative book for middle-grade readers about sanctuaries across North America that rescue wild animals and provide them with safe places to live.

Years ago, most major cities in North America had zoos full of exotic or wild animals in tiny cages. It was also not uncommon for wild animals to be kept as pets or trained to perform in circuses. To …

rated!
rated!

Birding for Kids

A Guide to Finding, Identifying, and Photographing Birds in Your Area

by Damon Calderwood & Donald E. Waite
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: birds, environmental conservation & protection

An interactive full-colour field guide that teaches kids the fun, safe, and educational way to observe birds in their natural habitat.

Join expert bird photographers Damon Calderwood and Donald E. Waite, and their young friends, as they highlight all the basics of birding. Birding for Kids is filled with full-colour photos, fascinating facts, and fu …

rated!
rated!

How Jack Lost Time

by Stéphanie Lapointe, illustrated by Delphie Côté-Lacroix, translated by Arielle Aaronson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: death & dying

“An artful and timeless exploration of love, loss, grief, and family, How Jack Lost Time will appeal to readers of Charlie Mackesy’s The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse, and other picture books for older readers and adults. 

Jack is not like other sea captains. Fishermen say he’s weird, but Jack only cares about one thing: the grey whale …

rated!
rated!

Return from Extinction

The Triumph of the Elephant Seal

by Linda L. Richards
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: environmental conservation & protection, environmental science & ecosystems, marine life

Less than 100 years ago, the northern elephant seal was thought to be extinct. Today more than 250,000 elephant seals swim in the Pacific Ocean from Alaska to Mexico. In Return from Extinction: The Triumph of the Elephant Seal Linda L. Richards tells the story of their dramatic recovery.
Elephant seals were hunted to near extinction for their prec …

rated!
rated!

If a Tree Falls

The Global Impact of Deforestation

by Nikki Tate
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: trees & forests, environmental science & ecosystems, environmental conservation & protection

Every day more of the world’s forests disappear. Trees are cleared for agriculture, lost in wildfires and harvested for the valuable products they supply. Called the lungs of the planet, forests play a critical role in climate moderation. What happens when they’re gone? Are replanting and afforestation efforts helping?
In If A Tree Falls: The …

rated!
rated!

Journal of a Travelling Girl

by Nadine Neema, illustrated by Archie Beaverho, foreword by Joseph Judas
edition: eBook
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: native canadian, girls & women, politics & government

This fictional coming-of-age story traces a young girl’s reluctant journey by canoe through the ancestral lands of the Tli?cho People, as she gradually comes to understand and appreciate their culture and the significance of their fight for self-government.

"Journal of a Travelling Girl deserves to be in every northern classroom. There is so much …

rated!
rated!

Spell Starter (A Caster Novel)

by Elsie Chapman
edition: eBook
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 100
  • Grade: 7 to 17
tagged: dystopian

Yes, Aza Wu now has magic back. But like all things in her life, it has come at a great cost. After the tournament, Aza is able to pay off her parents' debt to Saint Willow. Unfortunately, the cost of the gathering spell she used to strip Finch of his magic has put her permanently in the employ of the gang leader. Aza has been doing little errands …

Show editions