amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

12459 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel

by Christina Soontornvat, illustrated by Joanna Cacao
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: cheerleading, prejudice & racism

From two-time Newbery Honoree and Kirkus Prize winner Christina Soontornvat, and stellar new talent, Joanna Cacao, comes a high stakes, highly relatable graphic novel about courage and competition, friendship and belonging, and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. Perfect for fans of New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

 

Trying out for m …

rated!
rated!

Histoires de guerre

by Gordon Korman
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: multigenerational, emotions & feelings, military & wars

 

See below for English description.

Il y a deux choses que Trevor aime plus que tout : jouer à des jeux vidéo de guerre et son arrière-grand-père Jacob, un véritable héros de guerre. Plusieurs décennies sont passées, et Jacob veut remarcher sur les traces qu’il a suivies pendant la guerre. Mais une fois leur périple commencé, Trevor déc …

rated!
rated!

Les super six du hockey 5 : Pris au jeu

illustrated by Kevin Sylvester
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: friendship, hockey, humorous stories

 

See below for English description.

Les super six du hockey ont été aspirés dans une réalité virtuelle! Un programme informatique leur envoie des méchants sans vergogne afin d’apprendre les meilleures astuces du groupe pour arrêter le mal dans son sillage. C’est alors que les super six et tous les méchants sont expulsés du jeu et projet …

rated!
rated!

Braiding Sweetgrass for Young Adults

Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants

by Robin Wall Kimmerer & Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Nicole Neidhardt
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, botany, cultural heritage

Drawing from her experiences as an Indigenous scientist, botanist Robin Wall Kimmerer demonstrated how all living things—from strawberries and witch hazel to water lilies and lichen—provide us with gifts and lessons every day in her best-selling book Braiding Sweetgrass. Adapted for young adults by Monique Gray Smith, this new edition reinforce …

rated!
rated!

Searching Beyond the Stars

Seven Women in Science Take On Space's Biggest Questions

by Nicole Mortillaro, illustrated by Amanda Key
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: aeronautics, astronautics & space science, women, science & technology

Are we alone in the cosmos? Could we one day live on a different planet? How is life formed? What other secrets does the universe hold? 

Through profiles of seven remarkable women scientists and their achievements in their respective fields, Searching Beyond the Stars takes us deep into space, looking at once to the distant past and the distant futu …

rated!
rated!

The Undercover Book List

by Colleen Nelson
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: friendship, self-esteem & self-reliance, school & education, books & libraries

Governor General’s Award Finalist Colleen Nelson’s tale of identity, unlikely friends, and a secret book club, now available in a new paperback format.

Between her father’s posting overseas and her best friend Sienna’s move to the other side of the country, seventh grade is looking lonely for Jane MacDonald. But Sienna has left her with one …

rated!
rated!

Knight of the Rails

by Christine Welldon
edition: Paperback
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged:

Thirteen-year-old Billy Knight leaves home to 'ride the rails' across Canada during the 1930s. His encounters with a wide cast of characters — including fellow drifters and drifters and grifters, kid gangs, crooks, idealists, ragtag philosophers, and railroad bulls, as well as everyday folk simply trying to get by — provide much more than he ba …

rated!
rated!

My First Concepts: Colors, Shapes, Numbers & Opposites

4 Board Books Included

text by Corinne Delporte & Carine Laforest, illustrated by Annie Sechao
  • age: 3 to 18
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: size & shape, colors, opposites, counting & numbers, words

Early learning for toddlers!

These fun board books introduce toddlers to four essential concepts: numbers, shapes, colors, and opposites.

  • Great teaching tool for parents, caregivers, and teachers
  • Bright illustrations reinforce recognition and memory recall
  • Simple text encourages word association and builds vocabulary
  • Learning key concepts lays …
rated!
rated!

If You Can Dream It, You Can Do It

How 25 inspiring individuals found their dream jobs

by Colleen Nelson & Kathie MacIsaac
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: careers, school & education, inspirational & personal growth, diversity & multicultural

There is no single path to the job of your dreams.

What does it take to become a stuntperson? How does a mathematician spend her days? When does a barber become the center of a community? In this refreshing take on a careers book, meet twenty-five individuals of different backgrounds, genders, and abilities who have found their careers through a wi …

Show editions