amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

9212 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Dragon Assassin Royal Blood

by Arthur Slade
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 8
tagged: mythical, fantasy & magic

 

The thrilling sequel to award-winning author Arthur Slade’s fantasy adventure!

 

 

Carmen has defeated her twin brother, Corwin, thanks to the pact she made with Brax the dragon. Now it’s time for her to fulfill her end of the bargain.

Brax takes Carmen to Drachia, the land of beasts, where Carmen soon learns that Brax had been banished from his …

rated!
rated!

Night Owl (Upside-Down Magic #8)

by Emily Jenkins; Lauren Myracle & Sarah Mlynowski
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: fantasy & magic, school & education, humorous stories

The Upside-Down Magic kids are back in another topsy-turvy adventure in the next installment of this New York Times bestselling series!

 

It's Big Night in Dunwiddle . . . and that means the whole school has a sleepover like no other. For one night every year, magic students run through the halls, hunting for the objects that will win them a super sp …

rated!
rated!

Hide and Seek (Upside-Down Magic #7)

by Sarah Mlynowski; Lauren Myracle & Emily Jenkins
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: fantasy & magic, school & education, parents

The Upside-Down Magic kids are back in another topsy-turvy adventure in the next installment of this New York Times bestselling series, now a Disney Channel Original Movie!

 

 

When Nory's magic first appeared, her father wanted her to go to fancy, selective Sage Academy, where he is the headmaster. But Nory's magic went upside-down at the worst possi …

rated!
rated!

Scaredy Squirrel In a Nutshell

by Mélanie Watt
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: animals, self-esteem & self-reliance, humorous

The time is now for this anxious little guy: Scaredy Squirrel is back with a brand-new graphic novel series! He's funnier (and scared-ier) than ever, and perfect for readers of Narwhal and Jelly.

Scaredy is happy to stay in his nut tree. Why would he ever leave? The outside is filled with dangers. Like aliens! And dust! And a certain fluffy bunny wh …

rated!
rated!

My Year as a Space Cadet

by Hope Dalvay
edition: Paperback
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance

Page Stuart's perfectly organized life is flipped upside down...again.

Page is in unfamiliar territory as the new kid at school. To make matters worse, Shale Pit Academy of Creativity and Excellence (or "SPACE" as it is more commonly known) is no ordinary school. Students there have the dubious distinction of being nicknamed "SPACE cadets." No, not …

rated!
rated!

The Traitor's Blade

by Kevin Sands
edition: Hardcover
also available: Audiobook
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, europe

Christopher’s homecoming takes a sinister turn when a murderous conspiracy is uncovered in this fifth novel of the award-winning Blackthorn Key series.

Christopher, Tom, and Sally are back in London at last. Everyone is relieved at their return—the plague has ended, and the king, pleased with their service, offers a surprising reward. But troub …

rated!
rated!

Mission Mumbai

A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets

by Mahtab Narsimhan
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: friendship, humorous stories

 

Two friends, one deep alliance, the trip of a lifetime!

 

 

Travel to the colourful and chaotic streets of India from the comfort of your home in this hilarious and heartfelt story about friendship and family.

When aspiring photographer Dylan Moore is invited to join his best friend, Rohit Lal, on a family vacation to India, he jumps at the chance to …

rated!
rated!

Sara and the Search for Normal

by Wesley King
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: mysteries & detective stories, depression & mental illness, friendship

“It’s the vivid, insightful depiction of Sara’s internal struggles that readers will remember.” —Booklist
In this prequel to the Edgar Award–winning OCDaniel, fan-favorite Sara quests for “normal” and finds something even better along the way.

Sara’s Rules to Be Normal
1. Stop taking your pills
19. Make a friend
137. Don’t put m …

rated!
rated!

Do You Know Where the Animals Live?

Discovering the Incredible Creatures All Around Us

by Peter Wohlleben, translated by Shelley Tanaka
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 10
  • Grade: 3 to 5
tagged: animal welfare, trees & forests

From the New York Times-bestselling author of The Hidden Life of Trees and The Inner Life of Animals comes a book for kids ages 8-12 about animals at home and around the world. Get ready to become an animal expert!

Have you ever wondered …. 

  • Are worms afraid of the rain?
  • Do fish use farts to communicate?
  • Why do elephants stomp their fe …
Show editions