amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

338 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

I Hope

by Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Gabrielle Grimard
edition: eBook
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: values & virtues, emotions & feelings, parents

Poignant words from award-winning Indigenous author Monique Gray Smith about all the hopes adults have for the young people in their lives.

The hopes we have for the children in our lives are endless. We want our young people to thrive and experience all that life has to offer, but we also feel protective of them. Using simple but powerful statement …

rated!
rated!

I Hope / nipakosêyimon

by Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Gabrielle Grimard, translated by Dolores Greyeyes Sand
edition: eBook
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: values & virtues, emotions & feelings, parents

Poignant words from award-winning Indigenous author Monique Gray Smith about all the hopes adults have for the young people in their lives.

The hopes we have for the children in our lives are endless. We want our young people to thrive and experience all that life has to offer, but we also feel protective of them. Using simple but powerful statement …

rated!
rated!

J’espère

by Monique Gray Smith, illustrated by Gabrielle Grimard, translated by Rachel Martinez
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 3 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: values & virtues, emotions & feelings, parents

Message émouvant de l’autrice autochtone primée Monique Gray Smith au sujet de tous les espoirs que les adultes nourrissent pour les enfants de leur vie.

Nous nourrissons pour nos jeunes des espoirs immenses. Nous voulons qu’ils et elles s’épanouissent et puissent profiter de toutes les expériences que la vie leur offre, mais nous tenons a …

rated!
rated!

Fairy Science

by Ashley Spires
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 7
  • Grade: p to 2
tagged: humorous stories, science & technology

The award-winning author of The Most Magnificent Thing introduces the value of science and inquiry to young readers with humor and heart, now in trade paperback format. For fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Hidden Figures.

Esther the fairy doesn't believe in magic. But fairies are all about magic, despite Esther's best efforts to reveal the science o …

rated!
rated!

Do You Wonder?

illustrated by Wallace Edwards
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 3 to 8
  • Grade: p to 3
tagged: imagination & play, emotions & feelings, new experience

A wonderful, mindful picture book that explores big and small questions drawn from the world around us.

 

 

Sometimes I wonder

how it feels to fly.

 

Do You Wonder? delivers a delightful exploration of big and small questions drawn from the world around us.

 

From the magic in a starry sky to a heart-lifting song, from frustration to friendship, and from e …

rated!
rated!

Escape from the Wildfire

by Dorothy Bentley
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook Paperback
  • age: 11 to 18
  • Grade: 6 to 12
tagged: survival stories, canada

Escape from the Wildfire offers a fictional account based on the real-life facts of the disastrous wildfire of 2021 that destroyed the town of Lytton after days of scorching heat. Dorothy Bentley’s own experiences of living through a wildfire led her to research the experience of Lytton residents so she could write the story of a resilient teen s …

rated!
rated!

Silencing Rebecca

by Nikki Vogel
edition: Paperback
tagged: literary, jewish

In this genre-bending debut YA novel combining elements of horror, magic realism, and realistic fiction, Rebecca Waldmann’s sheltered life as an Orthodox Jewish teen in Toronto is shattered when her father moves them to Edmonton, where she is plunged into the worldly life of a public high school. Ordinary teenage angst is complicated by Rebecca …

rated!
rated!

Dinos Driving

by Lynn Leitch, illustrated by Scot Ritchie
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 2 to 5
  • Grade: p to k
tagged: dinosaurs & prehistoric creatures, humorous stories, cars & trucks

A witty and whimsical picture book for young fans of dinosaurs and vehicles alike. 

What kind of car would a tiny Velociraptor drive? Perhaps a mini car? But what would suit a vegetarian Iguanodon or a pack of r owdy Triceratops? What would an ideal vehicle be for a T-rex? Whatever it is, it had better come with an adjustable steering wheel for thos …

Show editions