amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

1233 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

The Wolf Suit

by Sid Sharp
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 11
  • Grade: 1 to 6
tagged: humorous, fairy tales, folklore, legends & mythology, self-esteem & self-reliance

A lonely sheep thinks he can protect himself in the scary forest with the ultimate disguise: a Wolf Suit. A hilarious and touching debut graphic novel about the pressures of conformity and conquering fear by finding community.

*A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Bellwether Riggwelter is, once again, out of blackberries. This time, rather …

rated!
rated!

Fly

by Alison Hughes
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: stories in verse

A novel in free verse about a middle schooler who discovers he's not the only one grappling with the imperfections of the world.

In this powerful novel in free verse, Felix Landon Yarrow (F.L.Y., or “Fly”), a fourteen-year-old boy with cerebral palsy, is captivated by the noble, chivalrous ideals of knighthood. So when he fears that a school vil …

rated!
rated!

How to Be a Goldfish

by Jane Baird Warren
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: alternative family, lgbt, bullying

 

Some family secrets feel too big to share…

 

When her teacher assigns a family tree project for parents' day, Lizzie knows it won't be long until Scotch Gully’s gossips start up again. Most folks in her conservative town are used to the fact that she's the only kid with an unmarried mom, but when Lizzie's family tree research uncovers a shocking …

rated!
rated!

A Knotty Problem

by David Cole, illustrated by Shannon O'Toole
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 6
tagged: mathematics, soccer, friendship, emotions & feelings

Tensions Rise Between the Math Kids

When Stephanie finds out her soccer team has a tournament on the same day as the district math competition, an upset Justin offers her a choice: choose Math Kids or leave the club. Dismayed by his attitude, Stephanie quits and Catherine goes with her. With their club in shambles, the future of their friendships is …

rated!
rated!

Green Mountain Academy

by Frances Greenslade
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: survival stories, death & dying, friendship

A daring rescue in the middle of a snowstorm in this compelling Red Fox Road companion survival story for ages 10 to 14, for fans of Hatchet and The Skeleton Tree.

After a family trip turned disastrous when their truck broke down in the middle of an old logging road in Oregon, Francie is now back in British Columbia. People try to make things as "no …

rated!
rated!

Apartment 713

by Kevin Sylvester
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: friendship, imagination & play

Secret ballrooms, hidden artwork and unlikely friends—welcome to the Regency, where even time moves in surprising ways!

Jake Simmons hates his new home.

The Regency is nothing more than floor after floor of peeling wallpaper and faded glory. Jake misses his old life. He misses the time when his mother was employed. He misses living in a house whe …

rated!
rated!

Best Wishes (Best Wishes #1)

by Sarah Mlynowski
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: fantasy & magic, friendship, emotions & feelings

 

Created by Sarah Mlynowski, the bestselling author behind Whatever After and Upside-Down Magic, this magical new series is Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants for a new generation of young readers!

 

When Becca’s best friend, Hailey, says she doesn't want to be friends anymore, Becca is devastated. But then Becca receives a mysterious package in the …

rated!
rated!

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel

by Christina Soontornvat, illustrated by Joanna Cacao
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover eBook
  • age: 8 to 12
  • Grade: 3 to 7
tagged: cheerleading, friendship

From two-time Newbery Honoree and Kirkus Prize winner Christina Soontornvat, and stellar new talent, Joanna Cacao, comes a high stakes, highly relatable graphic novel about courage and competition, friendship and belonging, and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. Perfect for fans of New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

 

Trying out for m …

rated!
rated!

Amo's Sapotawan

by William Dumas, illustrated by Rhian Brynjolson
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 9 to 11
  • Grade: 4 to 6
tagged: native canadian, business, careers, occupations, girls & women, pre-confederation (to 1867)

Rocky Cree people understand that all children are born with four gifts or talents. When a child is old enough, they decide which gift, or mīthikowisiwin, they will seek to master. With her sapotawan ceremony fast approaching, Amō must choose her mīthikowisiwin. Her sister, Pīsim, became a midwife; others gather medicines or harvest fish. But n …

Show editions