amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Search Books

Active filters

1181 Results for “*”

  • To require a term, add "+" in front. (E.g., anne +gables)
  • To exclude a term, add "-" in front. (E.g., anne -gables)
  • Use quotes to search for exact phrases. (E.g., "anne of green gables")
rated!
rated!

Me Three

by Susan Juby
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 18
  • Grade: 5 to 12
tagged: humorous stories, parents, emotions & feelings

Allegations against his father turn eleven-year-old Rodney's life upside down in a powerful and surprisingly funny novel about new beginnings, new friendships and a fresh new look at the way things really are, by critically acclaimed author Susan Juby.

Eleven-year-old Rodney is starting sixth grade in a new school, in a new home in a new state. The …

rated!
rated!

How to Spot a Sasquatch

by J. Torres, illustrated by Aurélie Grand
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 7 to 10
  • Grade: 1 to 5
tagged: action & adventure, camping & outdoor activities, fairy tales, folklore, legends & mythology, humorous

An action-packed graphic novel that shows no friendship is impossible

On a camping trip with the Junior Rangers, Jay feels like the odd one out. He’s determined to get a photo of Bigfoot—but none of his friends believe Bigfoot exists. But if there’s no such thing as Bigfoot, why is there a giant footprint? And who is stealing all the snacks? …

rated!
rated!

On the Line

by Eric Walters & Paul Coccia
edition: Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 8
tagged: lgbt, basketball, marriage & divorce

Thirteen-year-old basketball star Jordan Ryker feels like his life is falling apart.

All Jordie wanted was for his parents to stop fighting. Soon, he gets his wish. His parents separate and then his dad announces he’s gay. Shocked, Jordie struggles with how to process all this. His dad taught him everything he knows about basketball, and there’s …

rated!
rated!

Terrible Feeling, The

by Lisa Lucas, illustrated by Laurie Stein
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 6 to 9
  • Grade: 1 to 4
tagged: visionary & metaphysical, friendship
rated!
rated!

Depth of Field

by Natasha Deen
edition: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: self-esteem & self-reliance, emotions & feelings, crime

When Josh Biswas found out his girlfriend, Lian, was cheating on him, it didn’t only break his heart, it threatened his GPA.

Lian calls him boring and turns in their joint photography project in as her own, leaving Josh to come up with something alone or risk a failing grade. Determined to prove her wrong, Josh decides to head to the foothills of …

rated!
rated!

The Collected Works of Gretchen Oyster

by Cary Fagan
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 10 to 14
  • Grade: 5 to 9
tagged: emotions & feelings, humorous stories, siblings

Who is Gretchen Oyster? The discovery of a series of mysterious handmade postcards distracts Hartley from trouble at home. A poignant novel for fans of Rebecca Stead and Holly Goldberg Sloan.

Hartley Staples, near-graduate of middle school, is grappling with the fact that his older brother has run away from home, when he finds a handmade postcard th …

rated!
rated!

Megabat and the Not-Happy Birthday

by Anna Humphrey, illustrated by Sarah Hampson
edition: Paperback
also available: Hardcover
  • age: 7 to 10
  • Grade: 2 to 5
tagged: friendship, nocturnal, chapter books

It's Daniel's birthday, and Megabat wants to join in all the fun, but his excitement gets the best of him and suddenly the birthday celebrations are on the brink of disaster. The next laugh-out-loud book in this sweet and funny chapter book series featuring a talking bat.

Daniel isn't in the birthday party mood. He hates his new glasses -- they're d …

rated!
rated!

Maxed Out

by Daphne Greer
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook Hardcover Paperback
  • age: 9 to 12
  • Grade: 4 to 7
tagged: hockey, death & dying, special needs

Twelve-year-old Max just wants to play hockey.

But ever since his dad died, Max's mom has been struggling. Now Max has to take his brother, Duncan, who is autistic, with him wherever he goes. Max's team is counting on him to help them win the upcoming playoff game against the Red Eagles, but one practice makes it clear that it's not safe to leave hi …

Show editions