amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

rated!
rated!

Summer Reading 2021

Created by 49th Teachers
  • Age: 3 to 18
  • Grade: p to 12
tagged: summer reading
Get your hammocks ready, folks! This is your ultimate summer reading guide for grades K–12.

Showing 17-20 of 20 books

rated!
rated!

Bruised

by Tanya Boteju
edition: eBook
also available: Hardcover Paperback
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, death & dying, self-esteem & self-reliance

“A searing portrait of self-discovery; soulful and captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews
Whip It meets We Are Okay in this vibrant coming-of-age story about a teen girl navigating first love, identity, and grief as she immerses herself in the colorful, brutal, beautiful world of roller derby—from the acclaimed author of Kings, Queens, and In-Betwee …

rated!
rated!

Lone Runner

by Dirk McLean
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 10 to 13
  • Grade: 3.5
tagged: track & field, self-esteem & self-reliance, bullying

Set in a diverse neighbourhood in Scarborough, Ontario, this book follows Michaela as she goes from a solitary runner to an athlete who contributes to the success of her cross-country team. Discouraged by an incident at her mostly-white summer camp, Michaela comes into her own as part of her racially diverse school track team. Focusing on themes of …

rated!
rated!

Hunted by the Sky

by Tanaz Bhathena
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: epic, class differences, girls & women

A riveting story of discovery, forbidden romance and idealism against all odds, set in a fantasy world inspired in part by Indian history and myth. For fans of Sabaa Tahir and Tomi Adeyemi.

Gul has spent her life running. She has a star-shaped birthmark on her arm, and in the kingdom of Ambar, girls with such birthmarks have been disappearing for y …

rated!
rated!

Blood Sport

by Tash McAdam
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: lgbt, law & crime, siblings

“This book checks all the boxes of a hi-lo text. It has an exciting hook, a modern teen worldview, and is at a lower reading level...A must-buy for libraries looking for diverse and compelling hi-lo books.” —School Library Journal, starred review
Jason is sure his sister, Becca, was murdered, but he’s the only one who thinks so. After …