amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

9781713621171_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $39.99
published: Nov 2021
ISBN:9781713621171
publisher: Brilliance Audio

Tahira in Bloom

A Novel

by Farah Heron, read by Anita Kalathara

tagged: coming of age, girls & women
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $39.99
published: Nov 2021
ISBN:9781713621171
publisher: Brilliance Audio
Description

Life is full of surprises in a winning novel about a girl dreaming big during one unexpected small-town summer.

When seventeen-year-old aspiring designer Tahira Janmohammad’s coveted fashion internship falls through, her parents have a Plan B. Tahira will work in her aunt’s boutique in the small town of Bakewell, the flower capital of Ontario. It’s only for the summer, and she’ll get the experience she needs for her college application. Plus her best friend is coming along. It won’t be that bad.

But she just can’t deal with Rowan Johnston, the rude, totally obsessive garden-nerd next door with frayed cutoffs and terrible shoes. Not to mention his sharp jawline, smoldering eyes, and soft lips. So irritating. Rowan is also just the plant-boy Tahira needs to help win the Bakewell flower-arranging contest—an event that carries clout in New York City, of all places. And with designers, of all people. Connections that she needs!

No one is more surprised than Tahira to learn that floral design is almost as great as fashion design. And Rowan? Turns out he’s more than ironic shirts and soil under the fingernails. Tahira’s about to find out what she’s really made of—and made for. Because here in the middle of nowhere, Tahira is just beginning to bloom.

About the Authors

Farah Heron

FARAH HERON was born in Toronto, where she currently lives. Her varied career history ranges from selling yarn to selling bikinis, and from hiring in the high-end fashion industry to counselling high-risk youth. An unapologetic, outspoken feminist, Farah Heron tells stories that reflect the diversity in her own life and explores how women thrive in an uncertain world.

Author profile page >

Anita Kalathara

FARAH HERON was born in Toronto, where she currently lives. Her varied career history ranges from selling yarn to selling bikinis, and from hiring in the high-end fashion industry to counselling high-risk youth. An unapologetic, outspoken feminist, Farah Heron tells stories that reflect the diversity in her own life and explores how women thrive in an uncertain world.

Author profile page >
Recommended Age and Grade
Age:
14 to 18
Grade:
9 to 12
Editorial Review

“…the exact kind of YA fiction I would’ve loved to read in high school when I was shaping my ideas about love and who I wanted to be. Heron’s newest book is filled with great lessons about staying true to yourself and what you want…” USA Today

“As she does in her books for adults, Heron draws on her own Indian Tanzanian Canadian Muslim identity, and details of close-knit, transnational community enrich this YA debut. The book’s memorable secondary characters—including Nilusha, Tahira’s wise and compassionate mentor, and Juniper, Rowan’s sweet younger sister—help Tahira stay true to herself in this entertaining enemies-to-lovers rom-com.” Publishers Weekly

“Heron has penned an enjoyable coming-of-age romantic comedy. Touching on the pressures of social media, discovering your passions, and staying true to yourself, your morals, and your real friends, the book offers readers characters whose feelings and insecurities will resonate…A sweet read filled with fashion, flowers, and romance.” Kirkus Reviews

“With well-rounded supporting characters and a polished narrative, this is a natural choice for Sarah Dessen and Sandyha Menon fans.” Booklist

“Small-town fun, flower arranging, and summer crushes are all at the forefront of this winning YA novel.” POPSUGAR

“In Tahira in Bloom, Heron delivers all the necessary elements to an artfully designed rom-com: the perfect meet-cute, a delightful arrangement, and a rich connection to roots. A masterful debut!” —Nisha Sharma, award-winning author of My So-Called Bollywood Life

“Farah Heron’s YA debut stars strongheaded Tahira, who’s pursuing her dreams as a fashion designer. Against the backdrop of a fierce flower competition, Tahira finds her true strength and shines. This heartwarming book tackles ambition and the toll it takes on family, friendship, romance, and identity.” —Roselle Lim, author of Vanessa Yu’s Magical Paris Tea Shop

Tahira in Bloom is an entertaining and compelling coming-of-age story about fashion, floriculture, and finding yourself even when you don’t know you’re a little lost. Never have I ever laughed at so many plant puns. Perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, Syed Masood, and Sarah Kuhn.” —Suzanne Park, author of Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous and The Perfect Escape