amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

School & Education

Showing 1-10 of 34 books

rated!
rated!

Both Sides Now

by Peyton Thomas
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: lgbt, coming of age

A witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue
 

There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold would not only be the pinnacle of Finch’s debating car …

rated!
rated!

Sugar Falls

A Residential School Story

by David A. Robertson, illustrated by Scott B. Henderson & Donovan Yaciuk, foreword by Murray Sinclair, afterword by Betty Ross
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 15 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: aboriginal & indigenous, prejudice & racism, historical, canada, own voices

Inspired by true events, this story of strength, family, and culture shares the awe-inspiring resilience of Elder Betty Ross.

Abandoned as a young child, Betsy is adopted into a loving family. A few short years later, at the age of 8, everything changes. Betsy is taken away to a residential school. There she is forced to endure abuse and indignity, …

rated!
rated!

Double or Nothing

by Brooke Carter
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: siblings, mental illness, college & university

Ester "Essie" Tomasi is a genius. She got an early entrance scholarship to university and at eighteen years old is already in her second year of pre-med. But Essie also struggles with a dark secret: she has a serious gambling problem. She is falling deeper and deeper into debt, struggling to keep up with her heavy course load and unable to make ev …

rated!
rated!

The Third Act

by John Wilson, screenplay by Xiaoming Yao
edition: Paperback
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: college & university, asia

The Third Act deals with the intercultural struggles faced by Chinese students studying in North America in the present day and by an American playwright, Neil Peterson, caught up in the Nanjing Massacre of 1937. The contemporary story focuses on three Chinese friends (Tone, Pike and Theresa) who grapple in their own ways with the pressure to succe …

rated!
rated!

Pinch Me

by Gabrielle Prendergast
edition: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: music, values & virtues

After another night of girls, music and booze, seventeen-year-old pop star Darius Zaire falls out of bed and lands on the cruddy floor of his old bedroom. No mansion, no luxury cars, no platinum records. Now he's just ordinary Darren Zegers. Some kind of nightmare has erased everything that happened to change Darren the dweeb into Darius the multi …

rated!
rated!

Good Girls

by Shalta Dicaire Fardin & Sarah Sahagian
edition: Paperback
also available: eBook
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: girls & women, coming of age, boarding school & prep school

Welcome to Anne Bradstreet College, an all-girls prep school in Boston, where a high SAT score is the ultimate status symbol, followed closely by a string of Tiffany pearls. At ABC, as the school is affectionately known, high school isn't just about shoes, boys and weekend getaways; it's about becoming more accomplished than Joan of Arc. Good Girls …

rated!
rated!

Riot School

by Robert Rayner
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: diversity & multicultural

In the middle of the night, five teens break into a small-town high school to protest the decision to close the school and move them to a big city school. Led by Bilan, whose experience with the Arab Spring fired a passion to peacefully fight against injustice, the Gang of Five occupy their old school. The local police chief and the town quietly ch …

Show editions

Sub-categories