amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Young Adult Fiction

Showing 11-20 of 2537 books

rated!
rated!

The Last Time I Saw Her

by Alexandra Harrington
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
  • age: 12 to 16
  • Grade: 7 to 11
tagged: disabilities & special needs, friendship, thrillers & suspense

It’s been almost a year since Charlotte Romer set foot in her hometown of River John, Nova Scotia. She’s been living at a boarding school hours away, hiding from the trauma and broken relationships she left behind. All she has left in the small town is her older brother, Sean, who is struggling to keep the lights on in their run-down family hom …

rated!
rated!

Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong

by Prudence Shen, illustrated by Faith Erin Hicks
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback Paperback
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: humorous

You wouldn't expect Nate and Charlie to be friends.
Charlie’s the laid-back captain of the basketball team. Nate is the neurotic, scheming president of the robotics club. But they are friends, however unlikely—until Nate declares war on the cheerleaders and the cheerleaders retaliate by making Charlie their figurehead in the ugliest class elec …

rated!
rated!

Blood Like Magic

by Liselle Sambury, read by Joniece Abbott-Pratt
edition: Audiobook
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: contemporary, wizards & witches, multigenerational

A rich, dark urban fantasy debut following a teen witch who is given a horrifying task: sacrificing her first love to save her family’s magic. The problem is, she’s never been in love—she’ll have to find the perfect guy before she can kill him.

After years of waiting for her Calling—a trial every witch must pass in order to come into thei …

rated!
rated!

Tell Me When You Feel Something

by Vicki Grant
edition: Hardcover
  • age: 14 to 18
  • Grade: 9 to 12
tagged: thrillers & suspense, sexual abuse, drugs, alcohol, substance abuse

The perfect after-school job turns deadly for teens working as "simulated patients" at the local med school. Everyone has something to hide and no one is safe in this contemporary YA thriller that exposes the dark reality of #MeToo in the world of medicine, for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

It seemed like a cool part-time program -- bein …

rated!
rated!

The Year Shakespeare Ruined My Life

by Dani Jansen, read by Rebecca Auerbach
edition: Audiobook
also available: Paperback eBook
  • age: 13 to 18
  • Grade: 8 to 12
tagged: theater & musicals, lgbt

 

Alison Green, desperate Valedictorian-wannabe, agrees to produce her school’s production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. That’s her first big mistake. The second is accidentally saying yes to a date with her oldest friend, Jack, even though she’s crushing on Charlotte. Alison manages to stay positive, even when her best friend starts referri …

rated!
rated!

The Hidden

A Compendium of Arctic Giants, Dwarves, Gnomes, Trolls, Faeries and Other Strange Beings from Inuit Oral History

by Neil Christopher, illustrated by Mike Austin
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback Hardcover
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: monsters, country & ethnic, polar regions

Forget fairies and forget vampires! Let yourself be drawn into the dark world of the shape-shifters, ogresses, trolls, and demons of the Canadian Arctic. This collection of field notes meticulously documents the dark side of Inuit legends, complete with hideous monsters and unspeakable deeds. Each creature is brought to life by the stunning illustr …

rated!
rated!

I Was A Teenage ALIEN

by Jane Greenhill
edition: eBook
tagged:

Oas is sent from her home planet of Zorca-twenty-three to rescue her brother Ralb from the worse humanoid known in the solar system—a teenage girl. With her traveling companions, Rotsen, a plant with an attitude who watches too many Shaprantos reruns and Lehcarr, a Venus Fly Trap with the habit of eating her friends, they set out to find Ralb.

Tra …

rated!
rated!

The Coming Storm

by Regina M. Hansen
edition: Hardcover
also available: eBook
  • age: 12 to 18
  • Grade: 7 to 12
tagged: adaptations, canada, historical

Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, atmospheric fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known this all her life. It added spice t …

Show editions

Sub-categories