amazon.ca

Thousands of Canadian-authored kids and YA books

Abuse

Showing 11-20 of 82 books

rated!
rated!

Unatoned

A Memoir

by Brent LaPorte
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, abuse

 

For readers of Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son comes a heart-wrenching memoir that interrogates an abusive father and his dark legacy.

Children who experience physical, mental, and emotional trauma at the hands of a parent often grow into adults who suffer from mental illness and find it difficult to build lasting, healthy relationships. Som …

rated!
rated!

The Wig-Maker

by Janet Gallant & Sharon Thesen
edition: Paperback
tagged: family, multiracial families

A powerful tale of violence, grief, resilience, and transformation, told in the voice of Janet Gallant, transcribed and lineated as a long poem by Sharon Thesen, The Wig-Maker gathers and weaves together themes and incidents that accumulate toward "the moan" of racism, sexual abuse, maternal abandonment, suicide, mental illness, and addiction.

Thou …

rated!
rated!

Heal Your Kids, Heal Your Heart

The Mom's Guide to Thrive after Loss, Trauma & Abuse

by Natalie Pereman
edition: Paperback
tagged: domestic partner abuse, dysfunctional families

Your kids can recover from the damaging effects of domestic violence.

Have you left the abusive relationship but find yourself still feeling like your kids will never be the same again? Is counseling not giving you the healing results you hoped for? Childhood trauma and PTSD are debilitating, not only for the child but also for the parents who watch …

rated!
rated!

I Left My Toxic Relationship –Now What?

The Step-By-Step Guide to Starting Over and Living on Your Own

by Heather J. Kent
edition: Paperback
tagged: divorce & separation, domestic partner abuse, abuse

I Left My Toxic Relationship – Now What? helps women who are overwhelmed with how to rebuild their life after leaving a toxic and abusive relationship.

I Left My Toxic Relationship – Now What? teaches women how to live on their own again and how not to feel scared or daunted of being alone. It provides the roadmap for independence with active st …

rated!
rated!

Everyday Violence in the Lives of Youth

Speaking Out and Pushing Back

edited by Helene Berman; Catherine Richardson/Kinewesquao; Kate Elliott & Eugenia Canas
edition: Paperback
tagged: social work

 

Though interpersonal violence is widely studied, much less has been done to understand structural violence, the often-invisible patterns of inequality that reproduce social relations of exclusion and marginalization through ideologies, policies, stigmas, and discourses attendant to gender, race, class, and other markers of social identity. Structu …

rated!
rated!

Wounded Hearts

Memories of the Halifax Protestant Orphans' Home

by Lois Legge
edition: eBook
also available: Paperback
tagged: child abuse

Between 1857 and 1970, thousands of children came to live at the Halifax Protestant Orphans’ Home. Some were children whose parents simply didn’t have the means to care for them any longer; others were orphans who had nowhere else to go. Many faced abuse, poverty, and neglect before, during, and after their time in the facility. All were vulner …

rated!
rated!

One Good Reason

A Memoir of Addiction and Recovery, Music and Love

by Séan McCann & Andrea Aragon
edition: Hardcover
also available: Paperback
tagged: personal memoirs, child abuse, entertainment & performing arts, composers & musicians

A Globe & Mail Canadian Non-Fiction Bestseller.

This deeply personal memoir, co-written by singer- songwriter, renowned mental health advocate, and recent Order of Canada recipient Séan McCann and wife Andrea Aragon leaves no stone unturned. Detailing in powerful and lyrical prose a Newfoundland childhood indoctrinated in strict Catholic faith, the …

rated!
rated!

Borderline Shine

A Memoir

by Connie Greshner, foreword by Theresa Therriault
edition: eBook
tagged: personal memoirs, dysfunctional families, mental health, domestic partner abuse

A therapist's story of complex trauma and her remarkable journey to recovery.

When Connie Greshner was eight years old, her father walked into a bar in Ponoka, Alberta, and shot her mother. So began a young life defined by trauma. From Catholic boarding school in Kansas to the streets of the Downtown Eastside in Vancouver, Connie travelled in pursui …

Show editions